Psychology Research at SWOSU

The Psychology Department at SWOSU conducts research into the areas of social psychology (prejudice and effects of stereotyping in video games), women’s issues, child literacy, memory and cognition, school counseling, emotional intelligence, issues of child abuse and neglect and health psychology and career counseling.

Faculty Research Interests

Psychology Reserach logo

Dr. Jim Hunsicker

jim.hunsicker@swosu.edu - 580.774.3721

Research Interests:

  • Cognition
  • Human and Animal Memory
  • Search Processes in Memory

Dr. Amy Barnett

amy.barnett@swosu.edu - 580.774.3154

Research Interests:

  • Adoption, Foster Care, At-risk Youth
  • Motivation
  • Role of School Counselors

Dr. Randy Barnett

randy.barnett@swosu.edu - 580.774.6051

Research Interests:

  • Factors Associated with Juvenile Delinquency
  • Emotional Intelligence

Dr. Melinda Burgess

melinda.burgess@swosu.edu - 580.774.3724

Research Interests:

  • Media
  • Sterotypes

Dr. Stephen Burgess

stephen.burgess@swosu.edu - 580.774.7015

Research Interests:

  • Literacy: Early Reading Development
  • Use of Literacy by Adults
  • Video Games and Other Media

Ms. Jayme Correll

jayme.correll@swosu.edu - 580.774.3723

Research Interests:

  • Personality
  • Training in the Workplace
  • Assessment of Outcomes

Dr. Jared Edwards

jared.edwards@swosu.edu - 580.774.3726

Research Interests:

  • Teaching Strategies in Psychology Classes
  • Variables that Effect Career Decisions and Major Choice

Research Team:

  • Psychological and Career Education and Development (P.A.C.E.D.)

Dr. Jorie Edwards

jorie.edwards@swosu.edu - 580.774.6052

Research Interests:

  • Role of Career Development
  • Students in Transition
  • Perceptions of Mental Health

Dr. Michael Wolff

michael.wolff@swosu.edu - 580.774.3720

Research Interests:

  • Attention
  • Concentration
  • ADHD