Council on Grantsmanship & Research
Oklahoma Research Day: 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2013 | 2014
Researcher Recognition Reception: 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012

Notifications and Updates

Proposal Development Awards

Applications for the Proposal Development Awards are due in the Office of Sponsored Programs by January 27, 2014.

News from the NIH Office of Biotechnology Activities

NIH Amends the NIH Guidelines to Provide Additional Biosafety Guidance on Research Involving Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) H5N1 Virus – Researchers are increasingly interested in studying highly pathogenic avian influenza H5N1 virus to understand whether it could evolve to become a significant human health threat. [Read More]

Updated Proposal Review and Compliance (PRC) Form

For all those who wish to apply for grants, please note that the Proposal Review and Compliance (PRC) form has been updated. The new form is located on the Sponsored Programs website under “Research-Related Forms” or at the following link: From now on, we urge that all applicants use this updated form.

Updated Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide

The National Science Foundation (NSF) released a revised version of the NSF Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide (PAPPG) on October 4, 2012. It applies to proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 14, 2013. An online copy of the revised PAPPG may be accessed at the following link:

New Version of the Application Guide

In October 2012, the National Science Foundation (NSF) issued an updated version of the Application Guide. This guide will be applied to proposals submitted or due on or after January 14, 2013. The online version of the guide may be found at the following link:

Awards & Honors

SWOSU Tech Trek Video: Highlights

Dr. Lisa Appeddu, Dr. Andrea Holgado, and Dr. Lori Gwyn received several grants to support the SWOSU Tech Trek Camp for eighth grade girls, which took place during the summer 2013 semester. Thirty girls from across the state attended the one-week long Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) camp at SWOSU.

Below is a video which highlights the 2013 SWOSU Tech Trek Camp. SWOSU was the only sight last summer chosen to make this promotional video.

Tech Trek Video

Neuroscience Laboratory at SWOSU Receives Additional Funding from the National Science Foundation

Holgado Research Team
Pictured: Dr. Andrea Holgado, Dr. Joseph
Maness, Ms. Debbie Flaming, and
Research Team
Back row (left to right): Dr. Joseph
Maness (Chair, Biological Sciences), and
students Caleb Hubbard, Kody McKay, Nile
McCullough, Michael Caniglia, Jamin Brown,
and Monte Stone Front row (left to right):
Students Ashley Rodriguez, Tyler McLemore,
and Elizabeth St. John, Administrative
Assistant Debbie Flaming, Dr. Andrea
Holgado (Principal Investigator), student
Abby McKisson, and Research Associate
LaKesha Seals

Dr. Andrea Holgado, Associate Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at Southwestern Oklahoma State University, and her research team (pictured) received an additional $163,295 grant from the National Science Foundation for their research project titled, “RUI: Modulation of Synaptic Vesicle Exocytosis in C. elegans.”

C. elegans are microscopic worms with a nervous system that is much simpler than that of humans. Because of its simplicity, the team can target specific sections in the nervous system and research what proteins are being used in synaptic transmission. They also examine worms containing DNA mutations affecting neuronal communication to see if there is anything that can be done to “rescue” those animals from that genetic disease. Through this research, the neuroscience lab hopes to help identify new drug targets and contribute to the understanding of conditions that involve problems in the communication of nerve cells, or synaptic transmission. Some of these conditions include Alzheimer’s, schizophrenia, and epilepsy.

Importantly, the research project engages undergraduate students, visiting high school teachers, and high school students in the process of discovering novel facts about the nervous system and brain. To date, the SWOSU neuroscience group has produced over 70 scientific presentations, received three national and 10 regional awards, and published in three peer-reviewed professional publications.

This additional funding brings to $719,085 the total amount awarded for this neuroscience research at SWOSU.

National Conference on Undergraduate Research

Congratulations to SWOSU students Nathan Bernhardt, Jamin Brown, Zella Classen, Caleb Hubbard, Kody McKay, Claudia Nkeih, Ashley Rodriguez, Elizabeth St. John, LaKesha Seals, Timothy Stein, Monte Stone, and faculty sponsors Dr. Brian Campbell and Dr. Andrea Holgado! The students' abstracts were accepted for presentation at the 2013 National Conference on Undergraduate Research! Undergraduate Research
Back row (left to right) Jamin Brown, Kody McKay, Caleb Hubbard, Monte Stone, Dr. Campbell
Front row (left to right) Ashley Rodriguez, Elizabeth St. John, Dr. Holgado, LaKesha Seals, Zella Classen

City of Weatherford, Hotel-Motel Committee

Dr. Lisa Appeddu, Dr. Andrea Holgado, and Dr. Lori Gwyn
Dr. Lisa Appeddu, Dr. Andrea
Holgado, and Dr. Lori Gwyn

Dr. Lisa Appeddu and Dr. Andrea Holgado, Associate Professors of Biological Sciences, and Dr. Lori Gwyn, Assistant Professor of Chemistry & Physics, received a grant from the City of Weatherford Hotel-Motel Committee to help fund the SWOSU Tech Trek Camp. This one-week long summer camp will teach Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) fields to girls entering the eighth grade.

City of Weatherford

Mr. Brad Fitzgerald
Mr. Brad Fitzgerald

Mr. Brad Fitzgerald, Instructor in the Department of Engineering Technology, received a grant from the City of Weatherford to help fund the Oklahoma FTC Robotics Championship, which will be held at SWOSU in March. Over 30 teams from across the state will compete in this two-day event for a chance to go to the World FTC Championship in St. Louis.

SWOSU Selected for Tech Trek Pilot Program

The Weatherford branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) has received word that Southwestern Oklahoma State University was selected to host one of five national pilot programs for a math and science camp for young women in middle school. [Read More] Tech Trek Pilot Program
Dr. Lisa Appeddu, Dr. Andrea Holgado, Dr. Lori Gwyn, and Dr. Blake Sonobe.

Tim Hubin
Mr. Tim Hubin

SWOSU's Tim Hubin Wins Prestigious Henry Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Award

Southwestern Oklahoma State University Bernhardt Associate Professor of Chemistry Tim Hubin, whose work centers on developing metal-containing drug molecules to fight cancer and HIV, has received a Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc., in New York City. [Read More]