Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Athletic Hall of Fame

Joe Bailey Metcalf - 1970

A native of Hollis, Metcalf was an inspirational football coach who led the Bulldogs to three conference titles in six short years in the mid to late 1950’s. Metcalf’s teams won conference crowns in 1954, 1955 and 1957. He compiled a record of 32-21-2 at Southwestern, which at the time was the most wins ever by a school football coach. He coached several future school hall-of-framers including Cecil Perkins, John Buck, Keith Wigginton, and Vern Harris.