Southwestern Oklahoma State University

More Links:

bulldog angel fund logo

Click here for more info
Call 580-7743-267

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Alumni and Friends
100 Campus Drive
Weatherford, OK 73096
Phone: (580) 774-3267
Fax: (580) 774-7055

Distinguished Alumni

M.A. Diel

M. A. Diel - 1983

M.A. Diel, a lifetime supporter of Southwestern Oklahoma State University, was born in Hitchcock and graduated form high school there in 1932.  He received both his B.A. degree in 1936 and his master’s degree in 1958 from Southwestern.  He spent one year as elementary principal at Watonga before going to Cyril in a similar capacity for four years. 

From 1941 to 1946 he was employed as an accountant in California, and he returned to Oklahoma and operated a hardware and implement business firm of Lorenz and Sons and Lorenz and Diel.  He was named principal of Southwest Elementary School in Clinton in 1956 through 1964, when he accepted the position of superintendent of the Corn Public Schools. 

He resigned at Corn when he was appointed registrar at Southwestern, a position he held from 1966-68.  He accepted the position of superintendent of schools at Clinton for seven years until his retirement. 

Diel served as a member of the state House of Representatives from 1960-1964.  He was appointed to the Board of Regents for State Colleges in 1973.  In 1979, Governor Nigh appointed him as District Seven Highway Commissioner for the Oklahoma Transportation Department which includes the counties of Ellis, Roger Mills, Dewey, Custer, Washita, Beckham, Greer, Kiowa, Harmon, Jackson, and Tillman. 

He served as the Mayor of Thomas’ Executive Board of the OEA, Board of Directors of the Chamber of Commerce, Drive Chairman of the Clinton United Fund, member of the Rotary Club, and the United Methodist Church. 

Marion married Virginia Lorenz, and they have two daughters—Mrs. Wayne (Jody) Salisbury and Mrs. Don (Sue Ayn) Moore, both of Clinton.  Marion was a former debate partner of Ed Berrong, who was inducted in the Hall of Fame last year.