Southwestern Oklahoma State University

More Links:

bulldog angel fund logo

Click here for more info
Call 580-7743-267

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Alumni and Friends
100 Campus Drive
Weatherford, OK 73096
Phone: (580) 774-3267
Fax: (580) 774-7055

Awards & Recognition

Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Alumni Award Criteria

The tradition of SWOSU’s Distinguished Alumni began in 1976 with Congressman Glen English and James Witherspoon and has been continued every year since. Our Distinguished Alumni Award is given to nominees who’ve achieved greatness in their disciplines, careers, and lives. Each recipient has exemplified what it means to be a graduate of Southwestern Oklahoma State University. Recipients are asked to give the convocation speech at SWOSU’s graduation ceremonies each year. Any SWOSU Alumni can be nominated using the Nomination Form provided below.

2014 Recipients

William (Bill) Howell of Topanga, California, and Herbert Fix of Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, are being inducted into Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame during 2014 graduation ceremonies on the Weatherford campus.

Howell is a corporate real estate professional and Fix enjoyed a distinguished and decorated career in the United States Marine Corps.

[read more...]

*Complete Recipient List*

*Nomination Form*

Athletic Hall of Fame

SWOSU has been very fortunate to have such talented student athletes and coaches. The Athletic Hall of Fame was introduced in 1963 to commemorate these fine individuals and their achievements.

2014 Recipients

  • Bob Densmore
  • Cecil Devine
  • Junior Lowden
  • Tori (Woodard) Moss

*Complete Recipient List*

President's Award of Merit

Recipients of the President’s Award of Merit are recognized by SWOSU’s President for their achievements and contributions that make life better for those they serve. President John Hays introduced the award in 2004. This award is not necessarily given each year.

2014 Recipient

RecipientGrad YearCareer
Dennis Wiley Williams 1978 State of Oklahoma Department of Rehabilitation Services in the Visual Services Divison.

*Complete Recipient List*

Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award

Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award Criteria and Nomination form

Dr. Bill and Theta Juan Bernhardt have established a fund that will make possible special recognition of faculty who have exhibited exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship, and service. All full-time faculty, who have completed a minimum of one academic year at Southwestern, may be nominated. All nominations should be submitted to the Office of Institutional Advancement, Foundation and Alumni, Burton House 102.

Dr. Patsy Parker
Dr. Patsy Parker (second from left) won the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award for 2014 at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford. The award for exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship and service is made possible by Dr. William and Theta Juan Bernhardt (right of Parker) of Midwest City. Also pictured is SWOSU President Randy Beutler. Parker won a $5,000 cash award made possible by the Bernhardts.

*Complete Recipient List*

President's Service Award

The President’s Service Award is given to individuals who have gone above and beyond to serve and advance the SWOSU Alumni Association. The President of the Association chooses these stand-out individuals and recognizes them at Homecoming each year.

2014 Recipients

  • Debbie Shepard
  • Darell Shepard

*Complete Recipient List*

50 Year Medallions

Homecoming attendants celebrating 50 years removed from Southwestern each receive an anniversary medallion. These individuals are invited to the 50 year reunion and awards reception prior to the Homecoming Football game.

 Also given at Homecoming are the coveted “O” blankets for the alumni that has traveled the furthest, the eldest alumni, and the alumni present with the most children who’ve graduated from SWOSU.