Southwestern Oklahoma State University

More Links:

bulldog angel fund logo

Click here for more info
Call 580-7743-267

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Alumni and Friends
100 Campus Drive
Weatherford, OK 73096
Phone: (580) 774-3267
Fax: (580) 774-7055

G. Harold Wright, Jr.

SWOSU Alumni Association Board Member

Harold Wright

G. Harold Wright, Jr., CEO of Wright Wradio in Weatherford, Oklahoma, graduated from Southwestern Oklahoma State University in 1971 with a BA degree in speech. His interest in radio broadcasting began while working at university and community radio stations while in college.

Wright worked in programming and sales at KWEY Radio in Weatherford, Oklahoma. He was sales manager at WMBR Radio in Jacksonville, Florida, before moving back to Oklahoma in 1975 to become part owner and General Manager of KRPT Radio in Anadarko, Oklahoma.

Wright fulfilled a dream when he purchased his hometown radio station and moved back to Weatherford in 1991. Since then he has added stations in nearby Clinton and Cordell and now operates five stations in Western Oklahoma. He actively manages Wright Wradio and helps promote community affairs.

He is a Certified Radio Marketing Consultant and past President of the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters.

Wright has been in Rotary 25 years and was President of the Anadarko Rotary club for two terms where he received the Paul Haris Fellow in his honor of outstanding club service. He served as youth exchange officer for District 5740 for three years and later served as president of the Weatheford Rotary Club. Wright was the Group Study exchange leader to India in 2000 and is a fourth generation Rotary Club member.

He is past president of the Anadarko and Weatherford Chambers of Commerce and served as Mayor of Anadarko from 1985 to 1987.

He and his wife Carol, have two children, Angela and Heston. Carol Roberson Wright is a 1971 graduate of SWOSU and also earned her Masters in Education from SWOSU. She taught school in Jacksonville, FL, Fort Cobb, Anadarko and Thomas, OK before retiring in 2003.