Southwestern Oklahoma State University

bulldog angel fund logo


Click here for more info
Call 580-774-3267
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

SWOSU Foundation
100 Campus Drive
Weatherford, OK 73096
Phone: (580) 774-3267
Fax: (580) 774-7055

Foundation Seal

Bernhardt Winners

Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award

Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award Criteria and Nomination form

Dr. Bill and Theta Juan Bernhardt have established a fund that will make possible special recognition of faculty who have exhibited exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship, and service. All full-time faculty, who have completed a minimum of one academic year at Southwestern, may be nominated.  All nominations should be submitted to the Office of Institutional Advancement, Foundation and Alumni, Burton House 102.

Dr. Patsy Parker

Dr. Patsy Parker (second from left) won the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award for 2014 at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford. The award for exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship and service is made possible by Dr. William and Theta Juan Bernhardt (right of Parker) of Midwest City. Also pictured is SWOSU President Randy Beutler. Parker won a $5,000 cash award made possible by the Bernhardts.

Previous Bernhardt Winners 

Year Awarded Recipient Major
2014 Dr. Patsy Parker Accounting, Computer Science and Entrepreneurship
2013 Dr. Brian D. Campbell Chemistry
2012 Dr. Tim Hubin Chemistry
2011 Dr. Charles Rogers  Chemistry
2010 Dr. Scott Long Pharmacy
2009 Dr. John Woods Mathematics
2008 Dr. Mary Aspedon Education
2007 Steve Strickler Communication and Theatre
2006 Dr. Virgil Van Dusen Pharmacy
2005 Dr. John Hayden Social Sciences
2004 Dr. Peter Grant Biology
2003 Dr. Les Crall Business
2002 Dr. Steven Pray Pharmacy
2001 Dr. John Ludrick Education
2000 Dr. James Breckenridge Music
1999 Dr. Jill Jones Language and Literature
1998 Dr. James Hunsicker Psychology
1997 Dr. Terry Segress Music
1996 Dr. Gary Wolgamott Allied Health
1995 Dr. Stuart Burchett Chemistry
1994 Dr. Vilas Prabhu Pharmacy