Southwestern Oklahoma State University
The Bark

Latest Administration, Faculty, & Staff News Releases

Davis, Chain and Brown Win Brandy Awards

04.20.2018 - Haley Davis, Dr. Raygan Chain and Kendra Brown are the winners of the Southwestern Oklahoma State University Brandy Awards for 2018 on the Weatherford campus.

Wildfire Relief Executive Order Signed by Lt. Governor

04.16.2018 - Oklahoma Lieutenant Governor Todd Lamb, serving as acting governor on April 16, signed an executive order lifting weight and oversize restrictions on vehicles in order to bring in larger equipment and supplies for wildfire relief (utility repairs, feed, fuel and food) in western Oklahoma.

Faculty Pie to the Face Takes Place Tuesday

04.09.2018 - Phi Beta Lambda’s Pie-A-Professor fundraiser is ending, and it is time to watch Southwestern Oklahoma State University faculty take a pie to the face.

Connecting Higher Education and Business—Column by SWOSU President Randy Beutler

04.02.2018 - Oklahoma Chamber of Commerce Executive Chief Executive Officer Fred Morgan recently visited the Southwestern Oklahoma State University campus and then penned this nice column for the Oklahoma City Rotary Club.

Landry Brewer Wins Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award at SWOSU

03.16.2018 - Landry Brewer, history instructor on the Southwestern Oklahoma State University (SWOSU) campus in Sayre, is the winner of the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award for 2018 at SWOSU.

SWOSU Group Aids Washita Battlefield Site with Kiosk

03.01.2018 - A team of Southwestern Oklahoma State University faculty members and alumni, in cooperation with the Washita Battlefield National Historic Site, developed a portable touch screen kiosk with tactile graphics, braille, audio and visual images to engage audiences in the story of the tragedy at Washita.

Importance of Higher Education - Column by SWOSU President Randy Beutler

02.28.2018 - I would like to visit with you about the importance of higher education to our nation, state and communities.

SWOSU’s Richard Tirk Wins Oklahoma Jazz Educators Award

02.07.2018 - Dr. Richard Tirk, associate professor of music and director of the jazz program at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, has been awarded the Collegiate Educator of 2017 by the Oklahoma Jazz Educators.