News and Events

H.S. and J.H. Bands Set to Perform at SWOSU Jazz Festival

February 7, 2005

Twenty jazz bands from Oklahoma schools will perform during activities of Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s 35th annual Jazz Festival coming up Friday, February 11, on the Weatherford campus.

The bands will perform in the Fine Arts Center Auditorium and Room 102 of the Fine Arts Center. Admission is free, and the public is invited to hear the junior high and senior high jazz bands.

In addition to the bands, two festival concerts are planned for 1 and 8 p.m., also in the Fine Arts Center Auditorium. Tickets are $5 for students and $12.50 for general admission tickets. Contributor’s tickets are $30, which includes admission to the 8 p.m. festival concert and a reception following the concert.

Featured guest artists including trumpet player Tom Williams and vocalist Delores King Williams, both of Washington, D.C., and drummer Drori Mondlak of New York City. Also featured will be saxophonist Michael Cox, trombonist Robert Chambers, saxophonist and keyboard player David Hanson, and bassist Lynn Seaton. The SWOSU Jazz Ensemble “A”, directed by Dr. Terry Segress, will also play a big part in the festival, which is made possible with the assistance of the Oklahoma Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Tickets for the concerts are now available by calling the SWOSU Music Department at (580) 774-3708.

The schedule of participating jazz bands is:

Fine Arts Center Room 102

Time School Director

9:00 a.m.

Cordell High School Steve and Amy Smith

9:30 a.m.

Mustang North Middle School Mary Jo Sharp & Melicia Sharp
10:00 a.m. Mustang South Middle School Roger Sharp
10:30 a.m. Emerson Junior High (Enid) Gayla Brakhage
11:00 a.m. Monroney Junior High J. Gilley, M. Hensley, C. Raincrow
11:30 a.m. Kerr Junior High (Del City) Wes McLennan

2:30 p.m.

Longfellow Junior High (Enid) Brad Mitchell

3:00 p.m.

Mustang 9th Grade Bryan Myers & Tom Mangus

3:30 p.m.

Mustang High School Larry Edgmon

Fine Arts Center Auditorium

Time School Director

9:00 a.m.

Coweta Reid Bennett

9:30 a.m.

Carl Albert High School Martin King & Andy Brooks
10:00 a.m. East Central High School (Tulsa) Scott Kennedy
10:30 a.m. Norman High School Peter Liesenfeld & Jim Meiller
11:00 a.m. Norman North High School David Davisson
2:30 p.m. Duncan High School Jeramy Haas

3:00 p.m.

Enid High School Jeff McReynolds

3:30 p.m.

Del City High School Floyd Haynes & Phil Wilkerson

4:00 p.m.

Midwest City High School Mark Hensley
4:30 p.m. Mustang High School Roger Sharp
5:00 p.m. Yukon High School Clint Brown

| 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 |