News and Events

Looking Back at SWOSU College of Pharmacy-1950s

March 28, 2014

Some of the faculty in the 1950s at the SWOSU College of Pharmacy.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s College of Pharmacy will celebrate its 75th anniversary April 25-27 on the Weatherford campus.

Dr. Krista Brooks, chair of the organizing committee, said the general public is invited to attend the various activities planned. Additional information is available at: 

Looking Back: 1950s

  • Through the efforts of Dr. W.D. Strother, the School of Pharmacy was accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) in January of 1951.
  • The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy accepted the School as a member in August of 1951.
  • Alpha Omega Chapter of Phi Delta Chi was the first pharmacy fraternity at SWOSU, being organized in September of 1956.
  • In 1956 and 1957, Dr. H.F. Timmons and Dr. Walter L. Dickison were hired. Both men were destined to have long-term impacts on the future of the College.

| 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 |