Southwestern Oklahoma State University
The Bark

Trio to be Honored by SWOSU at Homecoming

Dr. William Bernhardt
Dr. William Bernhardt
Everett Dobson
Everett Dobson
Dr. Henrietta Mann
Dr. Henrietta Mann

Three individuals with long ties to Southwestern Oklahoma State University will be honored with the prestigious Presidential Award of Merit at Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s Homecoming activities planned this Saturday, October 10, in Weatherford. 

SWOSU President Randy Beutler will present the awards at the 5 p.m. pre-game festivities to Dr. William G. Bernhardt, Midwest City; Everett Dobson, Oklahoma City; and Dr. Henrietta Mann, Weatherford.

The trio will also ride in the SWOSU Homecoming parade at 1:30 p.m. in Towne Centre of Weatherford.

Dr. William G. Bernhardt has served on the SWOSU Foundation Board of Trustees since October of 1990. He and his wife, Theta Juan, have been long-time supporters of the university and established the coveted Bernhardt Award for Academic Excellence that is bestowed each year on an outstanding faculty member at SWOSU.

Bernhardt spent his entire medical career in the Midwest City area. Bernhardt was admitted to the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame in 1991 and is a lifetime member of the SWOSU Alumni Association.

Bernhardt graduated in 1947 and 1948, receiving a B.S. degree in Biological Sciences and Chemistry in 1947 and a B.S. degree in Pharmacy in 1948.

Everett Dobson, likewise, has served on the SWOSU Foundation Board of Trustees since 1990 and has been instrumental in the development and success of many projects on the Weatherford campus. Dobson and his wife, Jeanetta, have generously donated funds to establish five endowed chairs that benefit the Everett Dobson School of Business & Technology. In 2000, Dobson became the youngest benefactor among Oklahoma’s endowed chair programs at universities when he established SWOSU’s first endowed chair ($250,000) with the SWOSU Foundation, Inc.

Dobson earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in economics from SWOSU and was a four-year golf letterman at SWOSU and three-time all-conference selection. He was inducted into SWOSU’s Athletic Hall of Fame in 1996 and the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame in 2000. He continues to support the SWOSU golf program and recently donated funds to build a practice facility for the teams.

Dr. Henrietta Mann served as president of the Cheyenne & Arapaho Tribal College from 2006 until 2015. Mann, who received her bachelor’s degree in English education from SWOSU in 1954, was inducted into the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame in 1997.

Mann has received numerous prestigious awards and has been active in Indian affairs throughout the nation. In 2014, she was named by Money Magazine as one of the 50 Heroes in 50 States for her work in higher education.

Mann is a full-blood Cheyenne who has served in administrative and teaching duties at Montana State University in Bozeman, University of Montana in Missoula, University of California at Berkeley, Graduate School of Education at Harvard University, Haskell Indian Nations University (KS) and SWOSU.

The Presidential Award of Merit is an honor bestowed upon an individual who has shown outstanding achievement, on the state, national or international level, in the arts, sciences, business, industry, the professions, sports, social service or public service.  This distinct honor represents recognition of great achievement that a member of the SWOSU family has attained.