Southwestern Oklahoma State University
The Bark

Trio of SWOSU Students Awarded AAUW Scholarships


Southwestern Oklahoma State University students Morgan Bressman of Lawton, Yesenia Hernandez of Clinton and Catherine Schubert of Weatherford were recently awarded scholarships from the American Association of University Women branch in Weatherford.

Both Bressman and Hernandez were presented with $300 Nancy McClain Honorary Scholarships. The Weatherford branch awards annual scholarships to female undergraduate SWOSU students who display scholarly and extracurricular excellence plus are in need of financial support. 

Schubert was presented a $300 scholarship for the first ever AAUW Student Leadership Award for her efforts to lead the formation of a student affiliate branch and her participation in multiple branch activities.

Bressman is a senior psychology major with a minor in child development.  She is a member of the SWOSU Psychology Club, Oklahoma School Psychological Association, and the Southwestern Psychological Association.  After graduation, Bressnan plans to pursue a graduate degree in psychology from SWOSU.

Hernandez is a senior chemistry major with a biology minor.  She is an active member of the SWOSU Chemistry Club and currently serves as president.  She is also involved in the SWOSU Spanish Club and volunteers for her church and the Clinton Free Clinic. Her goal is toattend OU Medical School after graduation from SWOSU.

Schubert is a SWOSU graduate with a degree in psychology and is currently working toward completing coursework to pursue her licensure as a licensed professional counselor and a licensed alcohol and drug counselor. After completion of coursework for licensure, Schubert plans to open a private practice.  She is currently the president for two organizations: Graduate Psychology Club and the AAUW student affiliate branch at SWOSU.  In addition, she is a member of the Oklahoma Counseling Association.

AAUW membership is open to all individuals who have completed a college/university degree (associate, bachelor’s, master’s or doctorate).  Current college students are eligible for a free student e-affiliate membership. The AAUW Weatherford branch meets once each month, September through April, to conduct educational, community service and social activities.  The organization also hosts the SWOSU Tech Trek summer math & science camp for girls entering the 8th grade.

The next meeting will be Friday, January 22, at noon when Danielle Ezell, executive director of the Oklahoma Women’s Coalition, will discuss the recent 100 Women discussion. For more information about AAUW membership, contact Lisa Appeddu at 580.774.3148 or Lori Gwyn at 580.774.3341 or at the website: