Southwestern Oklahoma State University
The Bark

SWOSU Awards First Madge Lenz Jordan Scholarship to Garet Crispin


Southwestern Oklahoma State University student Garet Glen Crispin of Thomas has been awarded the first-ever Madge Lenz Jordan Scholarship by the SWOSU Foundation, Inc.

The Madge Lenz Jordan Scholarship Fund was established at the SWOSU Foundation in 2015 to benefit SWOSU students studying in the Departments of Education, Biological Sciences, Chemistry and Physics, and Social Sciences. The fund was established by Marilyn Doty of Auburn, WA, SWOSU Class of 1966, to honor her mother, the late Madge (Landers) Lenz Jordan.

Crispin is a student studying in the SWOSU Department of Chemistry and Physics with a declared minor in mathematics. He serves as secretary of the SWOSU Physics Club and has been recognized by his instructors with numerous honors. Crispin aspires to complete a doctorate in chemistry.

“We heartily congratulate Garet Crispin on being named the first-ever SWOSU Madge Lenz Jordan Scholar,” said SWOSU Foundation Executive Director Garrett King. “We are very grateful to donors like Marilyn Doty who, in honoring past SWOSU students, are also able to provide much-needed aid to current SWOSU students. It is a great honor to be able to tell the story of Bulldogs like Madge Lenz Jordan and her family.”

Jordan was born in 1904 in Caddo County. Raised on a farm near Hinton, she was educated in a country school until her high school years. She graduated from Hinton High School before spending a number of years teaching in small country schools throughout the area. Jordan put herself through college at SWOSU, waiting tables in downtown Weatherford and walking back and forth up “the hill” for classes. Jordan married Albert Lenz in 1931. The Lenz family lived on a farm in northern Caddo County while she educated young people at Mound Valley, Hydro and Weatherford, where the Lenz Family settled in 1946.

The Madge Lenz Jordan Scholarship is a substantial tuition and fees scholarship that also provides recipients with reimbursements for textbooks. Each SWOSU department that benefits from the fund was invited to submit a student nominee for consideration.

The current SWOSU Foundation Scholarships Selection Committee is comprised of:

  • Chad Kinder, Interim Dean of the College of Professional & Graduate Studies, representing the College of Professional & Graduate Studies
  • Tiffany Kessler, Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice, representing the College of Pharmacy
  • David Esjornson, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry & Physics, representing the College of Arts & Sciences
  • Doug Linder, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry & Physics, representing the Faculty Senate

The committee is seated by the SWOSU Foundation Board of Trustees for a non-renewable two-year term.

Contributions may be made to the Madge Lenz Jordan Scholarship Fund by visiting and designating gifts to the “Madge Lenz Jordan Scholarship,” or via mail at SWOSU Foundation, 100 Campus Drive, Weatherford, OK 73096 (please make check payable to “SWOSU Foundation” and designate “Madge Lenz Jordan Scholarship” in the memo line).

The SWOSU Foundation was established in 1977 to promote philanthropy and distribute funds to support the activities and programs of SWOSU. Located on the Weatherford campus in the historic Burton House, the Foundation currently stewards over $20 million in assets for the benefit of SWOSU. For more information about the fund, contact SWOSU Foundation Programs Officer Robbin Jennings at 580-774-3267.