Southwestern Oklahoma State University
The Bark

SWOSU Business Students Win Awards at State Competition


Students from Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s Everett Dobson School of Business and Technology in Weatherford won 11 first-place awards at the recent Phi Beta Lambda state competition held in Tulsa.

The SWOSU chapter also received numerous other awards including 11 second-place awards and 5 third-place awards. 

SWOSU students attending the 2017 PBL State Conference were: Terin Brownen, Weatherford; Micah Croke, Elgin; Bailey Deutschendorf, Fairview; Emmaly Helt, Kingfisher; Wesley Javorsky, Weatherford; Kylie Lent, Hinton; Nehyma Martinez, Guymon; Danny Mayorga, Hinton; Sara Michael, Piedmont; Cari Morgan, Calumet; Cameron Page, Weatherford; Jessie Ray, Piedmont; Ashley Stocking, Coweta; Sam Wollmann, Weatherford; and Maegan Yost, Kingfisher.

“A Legacy of Leadership” was the theme for the 2017 conference. Oklahoma Phi Beta Lambda (OPBL) is the collegiate division of the national association, Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda, Inc.

“Competing at the state competition was a fun and educational experience,” said sophomore finance major Wesley Javorsky.  “I enjoyed having the opportunity to represent SWOSU and also to get to know the other SWOSU students who competed at the event.

The students will travel to Anaheim, California in June to compete against 8,000 students from around the state and nation.

“Traveling to competitions allows us to show the state and nation what we can do,” said junior Accounting major and 2017-2018 PBL President Emmaly Helt.

PBL is an organization of people preparing for success as leaders in business, government, and communities.  PBL’s mission is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs.

Jonna Myers, instructor in the School of Business, is the advisor of the local chapter and accompanied the students on the trip.  Attendance at the conference was partially funded by SWOSU student fees.

Students winning awards at the 2017 PBL conference were:

  • Terin Brownen, Business Communications-1st and Personal Finance- 2nd
  • Micah Croke, Microeconomics-1st and Macroeconomics-2nd
  • Bailey Deutschendorf, Accounting Analysis & Decision Making (w/EH)-1st and Organizational Behavior & Leadership-2nd
  • Emmaly Helt, Accounting Analysis & Decision Making (w/BD)-1st and Entrepreneurship Concepts-2nd
  • Wesley Javorsky, Financial Analysis and Decision Making (w/CP)-1st and Accounting Principles-1st
  • Kylie Lent, Business Communications-2nd
  • Nehyma Martinez, Job Interview-2nd and Retail Management-3rd
  • Danny Mayorga, Accounting for Professionals-2nd and Entrepreneurship Concepts-3rd
  • Sara Michael, Cost Accounting-2nd and Information Management-1st
  • Cari Morgan, Business Law-1st and Information Management-2nd
  • Cameron Page, Financial Analysis and Decision Making (w/WJ)-1st and Financial Concepts-3rd
  • Jessie Ray, Sports Management & Marketing-2nd and Marketing Concepts-3rd;
  • Sam Wollmann, Forensic Accounting-1st and Justice Administration-2nd
  • Maegan Yost, Job Interview-1st and Justice Administration-3rd.