Southwestern Oklahoma State University
The Bark

SWOSU Assists with Women in Science Conference


Several faculty and students represented Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford at the recent Women in Science Conference hosted by Oklahoma Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR).

More than 300 vendors and volunteers from universities, STEM related businesses and nonprofit groups were in Tulsa to support and encourage a record-breaking 1,150 students from 6th-12th grades and their teachers from 50 schools across Oklahoma. 

Over the past six years, SWOSU students and faculty have provided unique hands-on experiences at this conference to encourage students to enter Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) careers. 

Students from engineering technology and computer science hosted several building and problem solving activities including making and designing their own catapults and artistic robots; solving domino puzzles; and operating a robot through a course.

Biology students taught attendees about plant bacteria and brought different microorganisms to be viewed through microscopes.  APhA students educated attendees about the diabetes epidemic and demonstrated what the actual salt, sugar and fat content of their favorite meals looked like.  Chemistry students helped attendees to make bouncy balls and spoke about the chemistry of polymers.

These hands-on learning experiences help engage students by making STEM fun and approachable, according to SWOSU Associate Professor Dr. Lori Gwyn.

SWOSU faculty and students that attended included:

  • Engineering Technology and the NASA rover team: Cindi Albrightson, Jacob Steigman, Jacob Mason, Bryson Ridley, Kathryn McDowell, Miryah Adair, Jay Penner, Jeff Lagaly, Tucker Sawatzky, Tiler Rose, W.A. White and Brittany Mason. 
  • From Computer Science:  Madeline Baugher.
  • From Biology: Dr. Regina McGrane, Ani Gomez, Jennifer Abshire, Adrienne Bonner, and Natasha Fish.
  • From Chemistry:  Dr. Lori Gwyn, Elisabeth Allbritton and Samantha Hamburger.
  • From APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists: Dr. Lisa Appeddu, Ashlee Gutierrez and Brianna Pritchard.