Southwestern Oklahoma State University
The Bark

SWOSU Honors College of Pharmacy Class of 1967


The Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy recently honored its 50-year pharmacy graduates at the Pharmacy Alumni Recognition Ceremony held on the Weatherford campus.

Honorees from the Class of 1967 attending the recognition ceremony were: Tom Aday, Plainview, TX; Steve Baker, Elk City; Gary Frech, Corpus Christi, TX; Ken Funburg, Stillwell; Fred Galer, Inez, KY; Dorothy Gourley, Ardmore; Bill Hite, Dallas, TX; Blaine Jackson, Escondido, CA; William Jackson, McLean, TX; Frances Ann Knight Jones, Claremore; Terry Jones, Grove; Jim Menzie, Franklin, TN; Carlos Newcomb, Clinton; James Peterson, Boerne, TX; Ken Roark, Midlothian, TX; Robert Schroeder, Frisco, TX; Billie Ruth Pierce Shields, Enid; George Simmons, Gorman, TX; Nancy Sanders Tardy, Las Vegas, NV; Carlton Vernon, Dallas, TX; John Wallace, Enterprise, AL; Paul Wilbanks, Lubbock, TX; and Dick Winn, Stillwater.

Patti Harper, alumni and development director for the SWOSU College of Pharmacy, welcomed all the alumni and friends to the program. SWOSU President Randy Beutler, SWOSU College of Pharmacy Dean Dr. David Ralph and Associate Dean Dr. Les Ramos all spoke to the group. Gifts from the SWOSU Pharmacy Alumni Association were presented to each honoree.

Following the event, the College of Pharmacy held an open house in the Chemistry, Physics, Pharmacy Building.

SWOSU’s pharmacy program was established in 1939 and currently has nearly 6,000 graduates.  The program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education and is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. SWOSU offers a Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree as well as a PharmD/MBA dual degree.