Content Loading


Scholarships awarded through the University Foundation are identified with an (F) following the description. Information and applications for Foundation scholarships may be obtained from the Office of Institutional Advancement (Burton House). All other scholarships and awards are administered by organizations, academic departments, and schools. Contact the department chair for additional information. Donations may be made ONLINE or by mailing checks to the Foundation and specifying the fund you wish to contribute to.

J.R. Pratt Physics Scholarship

A fund established by alumni, faculty, and faculty emeriti to provide financial assistance for students pursuing a major in Physics. The fund was established in memory of J. R. Pratt, a former chair of the physics department. (F)

McClelland Physics Scholarship

This fund is based on scholastic achievement and provides scholarship assistance for students pursuing a program in physics. The fund was established by George R. Pearson in memory of his grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur J. McClelland. (F)

Ray C. Jones Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded each year to an outstanding Physics student. This award honors Dr. Ray C. Jones who taught at SWOSU for 32 years and was a perennial favorite among students. Funds are provided by generous donations from Dr. Jones’ family, students, and colleagues who wish to continue supporting the study of physics that he loved. (F)

Benny J. Hill Scholarship

This fund was established to benefit deserving students majoring in Physics or Engineering Physics at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. At least one scholarship will be awarded each year to outstanding Physics students. This award honors Dr. Benny J. Hill who was the chair of the Physics Department for 25 years. This fund was established by Mrs. Benny Hill and the Physics alumni. (F)

Southwestern Oklahoma State University Physics Alumni Scholarships

Scholarships to outstanding Physics majors are based on need and scholastic achievement. Recipients are selected by the Physics faculty.

Other SWOSU Scholarships

For more scholarships available at SWOSU, visit the Student Financial Services site.


J.R. Pratt Award

An award is given each year to the outstanding Physics student as determined by scholastic averages in physics and related subjects, as well as leadership development. This award is sponsored by the Physics and Engineering Club.

Outstanding Midclassman in Physics Award

This annual award is presented to a Physics student who has completed General Physics I and II. The award is based on scholastic averages, involvement in physics activities, and leadership potential. This award is sponsored by the Physics and Engineering Club.