

The Sig Newsletter

News from the SWOSU COP

Winter 2011-2012





Students at the Professionalism Dinner



Newsletter Welcome

A Note from the Communications Committee

he communications committee would like to welcome alumni, students, faculty, staff and friends of the COP to our new newsletter publication. Here readers will find the latest happenings from around the college enabling them to stay abreast of faculty and student accomplishments. Posted here will be photos and stories focusing on COP members. This first issue will focus on highlights from the previous semester.

Enjoy and Happy Reading,

Communications Committee

_PS Our next issue is coming soon.



Dr. Dennis Thompson was recently made Dean of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy, after serving in the capacity of interim dean since spring of 2011.

Dr. Thompson has served on the college of pharmacy faculty since 1992, serving as assistant dean for clinical programs and associate dean for clinical programs. Prior to joining SWOSU, Dr. Thompson headed the drug information program at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center College of Pharmacy and the Department of Pharmacy Services.

Dr. Thompson also served as Coordinator of Pharmacy Services at the Oklahoma Teaching Hospitals. As well as, assistant director of pharmacy services and interim director of pharmacy services.

Dr. Thompson earned his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from Ohio State University and his Doctor of Pharmacy from the Medical University of South Carolina. Dr. Thompson completed an Advanced Residency in Drug Information at the University of Illinois Medical Center in Chicago.

Dr. Thompson's research interests include clinical toxicology, drug information practice and applying bibiometrics as a means of assessing relevant academic pharmacy publications. Dr. Thompson has published over 100 scientific and professional papers, 43 abstracts and over 100 drugdex consults.

Among Dr. Thompson's numerous publications and academic honors, include a special article in the New England Journal of Medicine, while he was still a student. More recently he was chosen by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy as the 2010–2011 Brodie Scholar-in-Residence, where he expanded on his work in field of bibliometrics.

Hamburger Cookout

The American Pharmacists Association– Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA– ASP) SWOSU chapter held its annual Hamburger Cookout at the college of pharmacy.

The event allows students to reminisce on the event of the summer, while preparing for the upcoming school year. Current SWOSU APhA-ASP President Zachary Key says of the event, "It's just a good way to get back into the swing of things."

Students enjoy hamburgers specially cooked for them by the college of pharmacy faculty. The event is also open to pre-pharmacy students as well as families.

The cookout draws about 150 people, and is sponsored by Walgreens Pharmacy.

The company's Representative Ryan Walker was on hand to give out gift cards to students who participated over the summer in Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experiences (IPPE's).

Several local Weatherford businesses also gave away gift cards.







Top Photo: COP Students enjoying the cookout.Bottom Photo:Right, Walgreens Rep. Ryan Walker and APhA_APS Pres. Zachary Key.

Professionalism Dinner

Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy held its annual Professionalism Dinner. The event is held to welcome both the incoming fall class and the incoming class from the prior spring. The dinner is meant to serve as an introduction for students into the professional and ethical standards required for their future practice.

This year's keynote speaker was Dr. James Kirk, a former graduate of the school. He currently serves as the District Pharmacy Supervisor for CVS Pharmacy. In his speech he extolled the college and its faculty, while offering students advice on how to interrelate knowledge and practice. He encouraged students to strive for the highest professional standards and learn how to best translate that into a shared language between pharmacist and patient.

Dr. Kirk says of the event, "The importance of the Professionalism Dinner is not only to welcome the incoming class, but to begin to prepare them immediately for practice outside the classroom."

The event is organized by the college's professionalism committee, which is currently chaired by Dr Kristin Montarella.



l committee, which is cu



The 2011 Professionalism Dinner was held in the Student Union Ballroom on the SWOSU Campus. Far Left: President Randy Beutler, Middle of Photo: Provost Dr. Blake Sonobe.

Photo: Provost Dr. Blake Sonobe.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy hosted the annual Preceptor Meeting at the Moore Norman Technology Conference Center in Oklahoma City on August 24, 2011. The event, held each year in collaboration with the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy, serves as an educational program for pharmacists who are pharmacy preceptors for SWOSU or OU.

Dr. Todd Sorenson, Director of Residency Programs in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care and Health Systems at the University of Minnesota, was the featured guest speaker. Sorenson spoke of the need to continue integrating cultural awareness and diversity into the practice of pharmacy as well as the need for adapting current pharmaceutical curriculum to meet the changing pedagogical needs of the millennial generation.

The conference also focused on preceptor continuing education and updates in pharmacy law. Dr. Christy Cox, who serves as the Director of Experiential Programs in the Department of Pharmacy Practice, organized the conference with the assistance of Dr. Jacqueline Gregory, assistant professor of pharmacy practice.

Additionally, pharmacy preceptors were recognized for their commitment to the experiential training of pharmacy students by providing students with an outstanding learning experience. Award recipients were: Bryan Boatman, Preceptor of the Year; David Donald, Distinguished Clinical Preceptor of the Year; Stephanie Burns, Distinguished Selective Preceptor of the Year; Joele B. Harmon (1996 SWOSU pharmacy graduate), Distinguished Institutional Preceptor of the Year; and Tommy Edgeworth (1976 SWOSU pharmacy graduate), Margaret Ramos and Emilee Bailey (2009 SWOSU pharmacy graduate), Distinguished Introductory Practice Preceptors of the Year.

Top Photo: Dr. Steinl,SWOSU small group leader. Bottom Photo: Artie Southern and Dr. Nina Morris

Preceptor Conference







