°F
The Focus Is You

Student Complaint Procedures

Here are the steps for a student to follow should he/she have a complaint with an instructor, an advisor, scheduling or other Department-of-Business-related issue.

  1. If a student has a problem with an instructor, he/she should first speak to the instructor directly. In a lot of circumstances, there is a miscommunication that can be cleared in that manner before proceeding to step two.
  2. If the problem was not resolved by speaking to the instructor, or the student does not feel comfortable doing so, the student should schedule an appointment with his/her advisor. Student advisors can be identified by logging into Campus Connect where the advisor's name and contact information should be listed. Advisors are generally assigned according to major areas and are available to help students with all sorts of issues.
  3. If the problem was not resolved by speaking to the instructor and/or student advisor, the next step is to send an e-mail and/or schedule an appointment with the chair of the Department of Business. Until the end of the Fall 2018 semester, Trisha Wald is the chair and can be reached at trisha.wald@swosu.edu, in STF 301 or by phone at 580.774.3061. Starting in January of 2019, Dr. Holly McKee will be the chair of the Department of Business, and can be reached at holly.mckee@swosu.edu, in STF 301 or by phone at 580.774.3049. The department chair is tasked with scheduling and handling both student and faculty complaints. They are available to hear concerns. Dr. McKee or Associate Professor Wald will do everything possible to resolve problems.
  4. If the problem is not resolved by speaking to the instructor, advisor, or the department chair, then the next step is to send an e-mail and/or schedule an appointment with the Dobson School of Business and Technology Associate Dean, Dr. Patsy Parker. Dr. Parker can be reached by e-mail at patsy.parker@swosu.edu, in STF 335, or by phone at 580.774.3284.
  5. If the problems are still not resolved, send an e-mail and/or schedule an appointment with the SWOSU College of Professional and Graduate Studies Dean, Dr. Chad Kinder. Dr. Kinder can be reached by e-mail at chad.kinder@swosu.edu, in HEC 105, or by phone at 580.774.3790.
  6. Should the problem still lack resolution, send an e-mail and/or schedule an appointment with the SWOSU Provost for Academic Affairs, Dr. James South. Dr. South can be reached by e-mail at james.south@swosu.edu, in HAB 210-B, or by phone at 580.774.3771.
  7. As an additional option, students can see the SWOSU Interim Dean of Students, Kim Liebscher, she can be reached by e-mail at kim.liebscher@swosu.edu, in STF 211, or by phone at 580.774.3768, or the Vice President for Student Affairs, Dr. Ruth Boyd, at ruth.boyd@swosu.edu, in HAB 208-B, or by phone at 580.774.7172.
© Copyright 2018 SWOSU, All Rights Reserved.
The Focus Is You