The Focus Is You

B.A. Political Science

The Political Science Program at Southwestern Oklahoma State University includes a Bachelor of Arts degree of 36 hours and a minor of 18 hours. Political Science involves the scientific study of political systems throughout the world and students majoring in political science develop analytical and research skills as well as further refine their critical thinking and writing skills. Political science majors are able to take courses in the areas of concentration including: Public Policy, Urban and Minority Politics, International Relations and Public Civil and Criminal Law. 

Graduates of the Political Science program pursue a variety of careers in government, business, and law. In fact, many of our major and minors have been accepted to law school at the University of Oklahoma, The University of Tulsa, and Oklahoma City University.

In addition to preparing students in pre-law, our program offers experiences unlike many universities. The program actively participates in the Model United Nations program each year with other major universities throughout the United States. Each spring, the political science program routinely sponsors trips to give students the opportunity to experience the culturally and intellectually diverse climates of cities such as New York City, Washington, DC, Kansas City, St. Louis, Memphis, Little Rock, Dallas, TX as well other places. The Political Science Student Association also conducts regular meetings and brings in guest speakers to discuss politics and government at the state and national level.

The faculty members for political science are Dr. Dan Brown, Dr. Ted Brown, and Ms. Laura Endicott.


Social Science facebook link
© Copyright 2020 SWOSU, All Rights Reserved.
The Focus Is You