Chesapeake Donates $100,000 to SWOSU PLC

Chesapeake Energy Corporation has pledged $100,000 to Southwestern Oklahoma State University for the President’s Leadership Class program on the Weatherford campus.

Randy Beutler, assistant to the president at SWOSU and director of the PLC program, said Chesapeake will give $20,000 each year for the next five years.

“We are excited about Chesapeake’s participation in the PLC,” Beutler said. “Their generous donation will help to ensure the success of this new and growing program.”

The PLC, which started in 2006, is for incoming freshmen and is a four-year program offered by SWOSU to recognize outstanding leadership qualities and to encourage students in their participation as SWOSU campus leaders and future leaders in Oklahoma. Approximately 15 freshmen are selected for the program each year.

“Many of Chesapeake’s university-level partnerships focus on providing scholarships for students pursuing careers in the energy industry as well as increasing the number of college graduates in the state,” said Chesapeake Community Relations Director Teresa Rose. “Chesapeake hopes to ensure a talented workforce for years to come.”

Chesapeake partners with educational institutions to help prepare future leaders, citizens and prospective employees through an extensive scholarship initiative. In the 2008-09 academic years, Chesapeake is proud to participate with 32 universities including 57 programs with well over 250 scholars.

Membership in the PLC allows students to develop close associations with university administrators and meet scholars and dignitaries who visit campus.  SWOSU President John Hays said the program looks for prospective students who have a strong interest in community service and leadership roles. The program is designed to identify and cultivate outstanding potential in class members by developing effective academic and social skills.

First year participants receive a $1,000 scholarship, room scholarship and enrollment in the PLC leadership course. During the second year, students receive a $1,000 scholarship; an end-of-semester educational trip to a major site; and enrollment in the PLC course. During the third and fourth years of the program, students serve as mentors for the first and second year PLC members. Students may be eligible for continuing scholarships. 

Southwestern Oklahoma State University is one of Oklahoma’s premier regional universities. SWOSU offers 15 nationally-accredited academic programs—the most among Oklahoma’s regional universities. SWOSU has two campus locations and offers nearly 100 undergraduate and graduate study programs, including a doctorate in pharmacy. Additional information is available at