SWOSU PLC Dines with Governor and Other Dignitaries

Southwestern Oklahoma State University students in the President’s Leadership Class on the Weatherford campus recently had dinner with Oklahoma Governor Brad Henry and several of his cabinet members at the Governor’s Mansion in Oklahoma City. 

The 16 students were fortunate to interact with Governor Henry, who spent over one hour of his time talking to the students on leadership skills and answering questions by the students.

The event was part of the SWOSU President’s Leadership Class, led by Randy Beutler, assistant to SWOSU President John Hays, who introduced the governor.

“The students really enjoyed this event,” Beutler said. “Not many students get to experience a three-hour evening with the governor of Oklahoma and other high-ranking state officials.”

In addition to the talk by Governor Henry, the class, along with several corporate sponsors and SWOSU administrators, had dinner in the Phillips Pavilion at the Governor’s Mansion.  One or two SWOSU PLC students were placed on tables with the sponsors and government officials.

Other state officials who attended the dinner included: Oklahoma Higher Education Chancellor Glen Johnson; State Auditor and Inspector Steve Burrage; Secretary of Agriculture Terry Peach; Secretary of Safety & Security Kevin Ward; Secretary of Commerce and Tourism Natalie Shirley; Secretary of the Environment J.D. Strong; Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Gary Lumpkin; State Senator Mike Schulz; State Representative James Covey; State Regent Jimmy Harrel; and Regional University System of Oklahoma Regents Joe Anna Hibler, Belva Howard, Jan Gordon, Harold Jackson and Connie Reilly.

PLC Members with Governor Brad Henry
Members of the PLC are: Trevor Brownen, Minco; Brenna Cary, Hollis; Clint Dismore, Miami; Kaleb Fischer, Weatherford; Jacob Fuller, Blanchard; Keenan Haught, Elk City; Whitney Hamar, Fairview; Alyssa Holt, Sentinel; Lauren Kehl, Cordell; Caleb Koos, El Reno; Riley McCallay, Hammon; Justin Simpson, Antlers; Morgan Smith, Mooreland; Jordan Stewart, Fairview; Bryan Wilkes, Oklahoma City; and Jonathan Zoschke, Thomas.