Content Loading

Students from Sweetwater, Hammon and Burns Flat-Dill City Win Timed WARP

Students from Sweetwater High School, Hammon High School and Burns Flat-Dill City High School were the top three finishers at Southwestern Oklahoma State University-Sayre’s recent annual Timed WARP (Writing and Research Program) writing competition.

Cara Grant of Sweetwater High School won first place and a $600 scholarship.  Grant was accompanied by English teacher Marsha Richardson.

Hammon High School’s Avery Wilson won second place and a $500 scholarship.  Her English teacher is Mary Cole. 

Alexa Benedict of Burns Flat-Dill City High School won third place and a $400 scholarship.  Benedict’s English teacher is Patsy Lyles.

“I really appreciate all of the teachers who took time out of their busy schedules to allow their students this opportunity to shine, as well as the opportunity to win a valuable scholarship to further their education,” said SWOSU-Sayre Language Arts Instructor and Timed WARP director Terry Ford.

Ford said that Timed WARP is a chance for high school students to compete for a scholarship, get feedback on their writing from college instructors, and familiarize themselves with the Sayre campus.  

Thirty-six students from eight different high schools participated in this year’s event, including Arapaho-Butler, Burns Flat-Dill City, Elk City, Erick, Hammon, Sayre, Sentinel and Sweetwater. The high school teachers who accompanied students were presented with a continuing education workshop given by, SWOSU Language and Literature Professor Dr. Victoria Gaydosik.

All of the visitors to campus were treated to breakfast and lunch, entertained with games, and awarded prizes.

“I’d like to thank all of the hard-working SWOSU-Sayre faculty, staff and administrative members for helping with this amazing day,” Ford said.