Content Loading
Jana Lou Scott

Jana Lou Scott Memorial Endowment Established at SWOSU

The late Jana Lou Scott (May 7, 1937 – February 28, 2018) served over three decades on the faculty of Southwestern Oklahoma State University (SWOSU) in Weatherford, including 16 years as chair of the Department of Education. Thanks to Scott’s generous and thoughtful planned giving, SWOSU is proud to announce the establishment of the Jana Lou Scott Memorial Endowment.

“The name of Jana Lou Scott is written in gold here at Southwestern Oklahoma State University,” said SWOSU President Dr. Randy L. Beutler. “Her legacy lives in the generations of educators that she played a part in shaping and sending out to build a better world. She will always be remembered, and sorely missed, by all of us who knew her and experienced her warm, encouraging presence.”

The Jana Lou Scott Memorial Endowment will provide financial support to the faculty and students of the SWOSU Department of Education into perpetuity.

Scott was a native of Fay (OK). She graduated from Fay High School in 1955 and earned undergraduate and master’s degrees from SWOSU (Class of 1960). Scott earned a Doctor of Education in 1972 from Oklahoma State University.

Scott was a devoted member of the First United Methodist Church of Weatherford and served on the governing board of the Heartland of America Heritage Museum.

The Jana Lou Scott Memorial Endowment is stewarded by the SWOSU Foundation, Inc. The Foundation was established in 1977 to promote philanthropy and distribute funds to support the activities and programs of SWOSU. Located on the Weatherford campus in the historic Burton House, the Foundation currently stewards over $24 million in assets for the benefit of SWOSU. For information on how to make a charitable contribution to the Jana Lou Scott Memorial Endowment please contact the SWOSU Foundation at 580-774-3267 or visit