Content Loading
Dr. David Ralph and Bryan Potter

SWOSU Pharmacy Foundation Elects and Honors Board Members

Photo Caption: Bryan Potter (right) of Elk City was recently presented an engraved plate as a token of appreciation for service as a Southwestern Oklahoma State University Pharmacy Foundation board member from 1974-2017. Making the presentation was SWOSU College of Pharmacy Dean Dr. David Ralph.

The Southwestern Oklahoma State University Pharmacy Alumni Foundation in Weatherford has elected Colby Brewster of Elk City and Richard Covington of Chandler to serve as members of the Board of Directors, and a long-time board member—Bryan Potter of Elk City—was honored for 43 years of service.

Brewster, a Weatherford High School graduate and SWOSU pharmacy graduate (2011), is the owner of Grandview Pharmacy in Elk City and serves the District 4 area for the Oklahoma Pharmacists Association.  He also coordinates a Health Express Group Scholarship that is awarded to SWOSU pharmacy students.

Covington, a SWOSU pharmacy graduate (1980), is chief pharmacist and co-owner of Hite Drug.  In 2017, he was awarded Citizen of the Year by the Chandler Area Chamber of Commerce and, in 2016, Covington was selected to receive the SWOSU Pharmacy Alumni Association’s Humanitarian Award.

The Pharmacy Foundation also announced that Bryan Potter retired from the Board of Directors.  Potter, a 1957 SWOSU pharmacy graduate, was the last-remaining founding member of the board, serving from 1974-2017. 

Other SWOSU pharmacy graduates serving on the Pharmacy Foundation board are Greg Adams, Clinton; Shannon Brewer, Edmond; Mark Dodson, Altus; Dorothy Gourley, Ardmore; Greg Huenergardt, Shattuck; Lowell Irby (president), Artesia (NM); John Lassiter, Del City; Bill Poteet (vice president), Lubbock (TX); John Walker, Amarillo (TX); and David Warden (secretary), Norman.  David Ralph serves as the Pharmacy Foundation’s financial administrator and Patti Harper is the pharmacy alumni & development officer.

The SWOSU Pharmacy Alumni Foundation was incorporated in 1974 for the overall purpose of supporting the educational endeavors of the Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy. For more information and/or to donate, contact Harper at or 580-774-7197.