Content Loading

Ten Faculty Selected for Inaugural SWOSU Instructional Excellence Academy

Ten Southwestern Oklahoma State University faculty members have recently been selected to the inaugural class of the SWOSU Instructional Excellence Academy (IEA).

The IEA is SWOSU’s new initiative to provide resources to university instructors who wish to improve teaching and learning in their classrooms. It is a joint venture between the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) and the Faculty Development Committee. Participants spend two semesters completing hybrid learning experiences, encompassing both online and in-person activities.

Inaugural class members are:

  • Kelley Logan, Department of Language and Literature
  • David Martyn, Department of Chemistry and Physics
  • Jessica Salmans, Department of Art, Communication, and Theatre
  • Lisa Castle, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Eunice Lonebear, Department of Nursing and Allied Health Sciences
  • Sharon Lawrence, Department of Allied Health Sciences
  • Amanda Evert, Department of Business
  • Heather Katz, Department of Social Sciences
  • Roxanne Davis, Department of Business
  • Raygan Chain, Department of Business

Upon successful completion of the course, faculty members will be known as SWOSU Instructional Excellence Fellows and will be able to display the logo of the academy on their office doors and email signatures.

The 10 individuals were selected through a competitive application process. Applications were reviewed by a panel of SWOSU staff and faculty. The inaugural class will last from January 2019 to December 2019. A second class will be selected this spring and will begin the academy in the fall. Two classes of 10 faculty members will be selected each year. 

“We had many great applications for this first class,” said CETL Director Marci Grant. “We highly encourage those who were not selected and all faculty to apply in the future.”

The application due date for the next class (Fall/Spring) is April 19.