Content Loading
Wilburn Family

Wilburn Family Named to SWOSU Planned Giving Society

Dr. Randy L. Beutler, president of Southwestern Oklahoma State University (SWOSU) with locations in Weatherford and Sayre, is pleased to announce that Gary and Linda Wilburn (SWOSU Class of 1997) of Weatherford have been named to the SWOSU Tomorrows planned giving society.

The Wilburns have generously made provision for SWOSU in their estate planning. Their thoughtful investment in SWOSU will be used to provide scholarship support to SWOSU’s students and to pay tribute to their son, the late Orbie DeWayne Wilburn. The Orbie DeWayne Wilburn Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in 2004 to provide scholarship support to Weatherford High School graduates who choose to pursue higher education at SWOSU.

“We consider it a privilege to assist SWOSU and facilitate the institution’s mission to provide quality learning experiences and opportunities for all,” the Wilburns said. “Our son was a proud SWOSU Bulldog.”

Orbie was born May 31, 1983, in Weatherford. A graduate of Weatherford High School, Orbie was an outstanding state championship athlete and trap shooter as well as an accomplished student and dedicated volunteer. Orbie was joyfully pursuing his higher education at SWOSU and had just commenced his freshman year of study when a senseless tragedy ended his promising life on September 2, 2002.

“SWOSU stands firmly on the Hilltop today because of visionary private investors and partners like Gary and Linda Wilburn,” said Beutler. “We are honored that the Wilburn Family chose SWOSU to help pay tribute to Orbie’s life and legacy. Their generosity will enable SWOSU students far into the future to pursue higher living and higher learning and to help make the world a better place.”

In order to better equip those who choose to remember SWOSU in their estate planning, the SWOSU Foundation, Inc. has launched, a comprehensive website with updated information about how planned gifts of any size and type can be made to SWOSU. Donors who choose to record their planned gifts to SWOSU will be named as part of the SWOSU Tomorrows giving society and recognized according to their wishes and preferences, joining a special place of honor amongst the university’s many benefactors. Former SWOSU Presidents Dr. Joe Anna Hibler and Dr. John Hays have graciously agreed to serve as the Honorary Co-Chairs of the SWOSU Tomorrows effort under the guidance of the SWOSU Foundation, Inc. Board of Trustees.

The SWOSU Tomorrows planned giving program is coordinated by the SWOSU Foundation, Inc. The Foundation was established in 1977 to promote philanthropy and distribute funds to support the activities and programs of SWOSU. Located on the Weatherford campus in the historic Burton House, the Foundation currently stewards over $24 million in assets for the benefit of SWOSU.

For information on how to make a planned gift to SWOSU or to notify SWOSU that you have made provision for the university in your estate planning, please contact the SWOSU Foundation by telephone at 580-774-3267; by e-mail to Executive Director Garrett King at; or by visiting