Content Loading
Dr. Tim Hubin

Dr. Tim Hubin Named Chair of SWOSU Department of Chemistry & Physics

Dr. Tim Hubin has been named chair of the Department of Chemistry & Physics at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

Hubin received two Bachelor’s degrees in Chemistry and in Secondary Science Education from Kansas State University in 1994 and a PhD in Chemistry from the University of Kansas in 1999. Hubin also has postdoctoral research experience from the California Institute of Technology.

Hubin, who has taught at SWOSU for 14 years, believes students learn best by doing. He is a pioneer in incorporating scientific research into his class work.

His current research, which has generated over $1.2 million in external research funding at SWOSU, focuses on developing molecules that bind metal ions tightly and has applications in diverse areas such as treating cancer, biomedical imaging and oxidation catalysis. His 49 and counting SWOSU undergraduate research students have had articles published in numerous national and international peer reviewed scientific journals and presented at many national conferences.

Hubin is a winner of SWOSU’s highest teaching honor, the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award, the Oklahoma Medal of Excellence and is a recipient of the national Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, among other honors.

Among his contributions to SWOSU’s Chemistry Department, Hubin has overseen curriculum development, adding innovative courses such as Structure and Bonding Theory, Principles of Laboratory Safety and a research project based Inorganic Chemistry Lab. His current curricular project is the development of a Scientific Ethics course for SWOSU STEM majors, which is being supported by the OK-INBRE NIH program.