Content Loading

SWOSU Names Legislator Sherrie Conley to Presidential Order of Merit

Ed Klein, Sherrie Conley and President Randy BeutlerSouthwestern Oklahoma State University alumnus Sherrie Conley of Newcastle is congratulated on her induction into the SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit by SWOSU Education Department Chair Dr. Ed Klein (left) and SWOSU President Dr. Randy Beutler.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University (SWOSU) with locations in Weatherford and Sayre is pleased to announce that Oklahoma State Representative Sherrie Conley of Newcastle has been named the 36th inductee into the SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit.

Conley, who represents Oklahoma House District 20, is an alumnus of the SWOSU Department of Education. She was inducted into the Order by SWOSU President Dr. Randy L. Beutler during a recent luncheon held in the Pioneer Cellular Events Center where Representative Conley was able to visit with current SWOSU education students and faculty.

“Representative Conley is an outstanding SWOSU graduate, and we are grateful that she took the time to reconnect with her alma mater by mentoring our current education students,” Beutler said. “She is most deserving of the SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit.”

The SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit is an honor bestowed upon an individual who has shown outstanding achievement on the state, national or international level, in the arts, sciences, business, industry, the professions, sports, social service or public service.  The prestigious award represents recognition of significant distinction that a member of the SWOSU family has attained.

SWOSU President Dr. John Hays introduced the award in 2004. The SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit is the highest honor in the personal gift of SWOSU's chief executive.

For more information about the SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit, please contact the SWOSU Office of Institutional Advancement at 580-774-3267.