Content Loading

SWOSU Biology Students Awarded Research Grants

Four Southwestern Oklahoma State University biology students in Weatherford recently received funding from the Beta Beta Beta Biological Sciences Honor Society to support their ongoing research projects.

Recipients were Kade Ezell, Yukon; Brendan Harrison, Elk City; Amy Hofeld, Oklahoma City (Epic Charter); and Abigail Trejo, Gruver (TX). Their research mentors are Dr. Regina McGrane, Dr. Rickey Cothran, Dr. Zach Jones, and Dr. Vijay Somalinga, respectively, all faculty members in the SWOSU Department of Biological Sciences.

Ezell’s proposal was: “Investigating the effects of a bactericidal biosurfactant on eukaryotic organisms”.

Harrison’s proposal was: “How demographics affect long-term population health in Hyalella amphipods”.

Hofeld’s proposal was: “Timing of Avian Migration Through the Oklahoma City Area 1995-2017 using NOAA Weather Data”.

Trejo’s proposal was: “Biochemical and Structural Characterization of Dps1 protein from Rhodococcus jostii RHA1”.

Funds were awarded based on proposals that the students wrote. Proposals described their research questions, objectives and methods. Students can use the awarded funds to buy supplies, support a stipend, and/or travel to scientific meetings. As a requirement of their award, students will present their research findings at either the regional or the national TriBeta Convention during the upcoming spring semester.