Content Loading
Big Phat Band at Jazz Fest

SWOSU Jazz Festival to Attract 38 High School and College Bands

Thirty-eight high school and college jazz bands—one of the largest groups in the history of the Southwestern Oklahoma State University Jazz Festival—will participate in the 50th annual festival on Friday, February 7, as part of the SWOSU Jazz Festival activities on the Weatherford campus.

The public is invited to the free performances of the high school and college bands.

The golden anniversary of the SWOSU Jazz Festival will have Friday concerts at 1 and 8 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center on the SWOSU campus. Featured guest this year is the world-renowned Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band of California.

Tickets for the 8 p.m. concert featuring the entire Big Phat Band are $25 for general admission, $15 for seniors and $10 for SWOSU students with a valid I.D. Tickets for the 1 p.m. concert featuring Gordon Goodwin, members of the Big Phat Band and the SWOSU Jazz A are $10 for general admission, $5 for seniors and $3 for SWOSU students with a valid I.D.

Tickets are available at, courtesy of ticket partner Additional info is available at the SWOSU Music Office, Room 100, in the Fine Arts Center or by calling 580.774.3708. 

The SWOSU Jazz Festival is presented by the SWOSU Department of Music in conjunction with the City of Weatherford, Oklahoma Arts Council and Weatherford Arts Council.

The lineup of bands is:

SWOSU Fine Arts Center Auditorium

  • 8:00 a.m.         Cordell High School  
  • 8:45 a.m.         Yukon High School
  • 9:30 a.m.         Lake Dallas High School
  • 11:30 a.m.       Midwest City High School
  • 12:15 p.m.       Edmond Santa Fe High School
  • 1:00 p.m.         SWOSU Jazz A
  • 2:00 p.m.         Mustang High School I
  • 2:45 p.m.         Enid High School
  • 3:30 p.m.         Southmoore High School I

 SWOSU Berrong Music Hall 101

  • 8:00 a.m.         Verdigris High School II
  • 8:45 a.m.         Clinton High School
  • 9:30 a.m.         Del City High School II
  • 10:15 a.m.       Oologah High School
  • 11:30 a.m.       Coweta High School II
  • 2:00 p.m.         Southmore High School III
  • 2:45 p.m.         Lone Grove High School
  • 3:30 p.m.         Collinsville High School II
  • 4:15 p.m.         Mustang High School II
  • 5:00 p.m.         Tuttle High School
  • 5:45 p.m.         Northeastern A&M 
  • 6:30 pm           Guthrie High School 
  • 7:00 p.m.         U.S. Grant High School

 SWOSU Hilltop Theatre

  • 8:00 a.m.         Claasen SAS 
  • 8:45 a.m.         Elk City High School
  • 9:30 a.m.         Verdigris High School 
  • 10:15 a.m.       Norman High School
  • 11:30 a.m.       Edmond North High School
  • 12:15 p.m.       Southmoore High School II
  • 2:00 p.m.         Coweta High School I
  • 4:15 p.m.         Moore High School
  • 5:00 p.m.         Deer Creek High School
  • 5:45 p.m.         Del City High School I
  • 6:30 p.m.         Souther Nazarene University 
  • 7:00 p.m.         East Central University
  • 7:30 p.m.         Oklahoma Christian University

 SWOSU Business Enterprise Center

  • 11:30 a.m. Putnam City Capps Middle School
  • 12:15 p.m. Del City Kerr Middle School
  • 2:00 p.m.   Enid Waller Middle School
  • 2:45 p.m.   Del Crest Middle School
  • 3:30 p.m.   Del City High School III