Content Loading
Dr. Saluja

Saluja Wins Bernhardt Award at SWOSU

Dr. Hardeep Singh Saluja, associate professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the College of Pharmacy at Southwestern Oklahoma State University, is the winner of the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award for 2020 at SWOSU. 

Saluja, who is also coordinator of the PharmD/MBA dual degree program, was presented the prestigious award at the annual Bernhardt banquet held recently on the Weatherford campus, and he received a $5,000 cash award, clock, pen and medallion.

SWOSU alumni Dr. William and Theta Juan Bernhardt of Midwest City are sponsors of the annual award that goes to an outstanding faculty member who exhibits exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship and service.

Dr. Hardeep Singh Saluja was born in India and moved to the United States in 2004 to pursue higher studies. He has a Ph.D. from Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences in Boston. He worked at Harvard University for his master’s research project and earned his B.S. in pharmacy from C.C.S. University in India. After he came to Weatherford in 2010, he earned an MBA from SWOSU.

In addition to teaching his College of Pharmacy courses—Pharmaceutics, Biopharmaceutics and Pharmacokinetics—Saluja also teaches SWOSU Connect. He is very passionate about his profession and always looks for innovative and creative methods of teaching. Saluja seeks to engage his students by employing various active learning techniques in an effort to help students develop and practice critical thinking skills and become lifelong learners.

Saluja has incorporated laboratory experiences to first year pharmacy students in his Pharmaceutics course in order to give students an opportunity to perform various pharmaceutical tests on different brands of common over the counter medications. Completing these tests, allows students to apply their knowledge and gain hands on experience, which in turn, helps students to develop deeper understanding on various drug products employed in the patient care.

Saluja is also very active in the Indian and Sikh communities. He has been invited to various departments at SWOSU, universities and churches to present on Sikh belief and practices. He is an active member of Weatherford Rotary Club. In his free time, he enjoys cooking, exercise, gardening and spending time with his family.

Previous winners of the Bernhardt Award are (in order by year): Dr. Vilas Prabhu, Dr. Stuart Burchett, Dr. Gary Wolgamott, Dr. Terry Segress, Dr. James Hunsicker, Dr. Jill Jones, Dr. James Breckenridge, Dr. John Ludrick, Dr. W. Steven Pray, Dr. Les Crall, Dr. Peter Grant, Dr. John Hayden, Dr. Virgil Van Dusen, Steve Strickler, Dr. Mary Aspedon, Dr. John Woods, Dr. Scott Long, Dr. Charles Rogers, Dr. Tim Hubin, Dr. Brian Campbell, Dr. Patsy Parker, Dr. Tom Davis, Dr. Kevin Collins, Dr. Trisha Wald, Landry Brewer and Dr. Amanda Evert.