Content Loading

Weatherford Branch Helping Host the American Association of University Women’s Virtual State Convention

Weatherford branch members, which include Southwestern Oklahoma State University employees and Weatherford community members, are assisting the American Association of University Women (AAUW) of Oklahoma to conduct a virtual, state-wide convention on July 6-11.

The convention features a variety of topics during hour-long, lunch break lectures from 12 noon to 1 p.m. on July 6-10.  Convention registration is $30 for members/friends and $15 for students.  This includes virtual access to the convention and silent auction; a t-shirt and convention survival kit; and opportunities to win door prizes during convention sessions.

The day-long 2020 Biennial celebration will occur on Saturday, July 11, featuring award-winning journalist and writer, Elaine Weiss, and an international panel of physicians sharing perspectives on women’s issues across the globe. The convention ends with the closed AAUW Oklahoma business meeting and induction of state officers.

The convention was originally planned to be held in Weatherford.  In accordance with AAUW national recommendations for state meetings, the virtual format will enable AAUW/OK members to (in the words of AAUW National Board Chair Julia Brown) "stay home, stay safe, and stay connected." 

The Weatherford branch is still playing a large role in the convention, helping to host zoom sessions during the convention, as well as gathering donations and purchasing items for convention survival kits to be mailed to registrants.  The group also contacted Weatherford businesses, who generously provided discounts to shop and play – in person or virtually.

SWOSU employees directly assisting with the convention include: Dr. Lisa Appeddu and Dr. Sally Drinnon (College of Pharmacy), Lisa Friesen (Director of CETL and Canvas Administrator), Faye Henson (Adjunct), Dr. Lori Gwyn (Office of Sponsored Programs and Student Success Center), Dr. Elaine Davies (Communications and GSM Faculty Sponsor), Joshua Engle (Dean of Students), and Dr. Gina McGrane (Biological Sciences). 

Dr. Sunu Kodumthara (Social Sciences) and SWOSU students Jillian Drinnon and Jackson Shubert are convention presenters.  SWOSU programs which contributed items to the survival kit include the Rural Health Center, College of Pharmacy, Kappa Epsilon (professional pharmacy sorority), Kappa Delta Pi (international honor organization for Education majors), Student Success Center, Everett Dobson School of Business & Technology, English Club / Sigma Tau Delta, and the Gender and Sexual Minorities (GSM) Project. 

The American Association of University Women is a non-profit organization that advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education and research. The AAUW Weatherford Branch meets monthly, September through April, to conduct educational, community, service and social activities

For additional conference information, please see  For anyone interested in the AAUW Weatherford branch, contact Lisa Friesen (branch president) at 580-774-7126 or