Content Loading

SWOSU Foundation, Inc., Trustees Convene for Spring 2021 Session

*** Broken component *** The Board of Trustees of the Southwestern Oklahoma State University (SWOSU) Foundation, Inc. recently convened for a regularly scheduled business meeting.

The meeting was held in the Timothy T. Day Business Enterprise Center at SWOSU’s Weatherford location. Remote trustees participated in the meeting via Zoom thanks to services facilitated by the SWOSU Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning (CETL).

The trustees heard briefings from SWOSU President Dr. Randy L. Beutler and SWOSU Foundation, Inc. Executive Director Garrett King. The trustees commended Beutler for his leadership of SWOSU and thanked him for his close cooperation with the Foundation during his tenure to achieve significant philanthropic advancements benefitting the institution. The trustees presented Beutler with a certificate noting the establishment of the President Randy L. Beutler Endowment in honor of his service to SWOSU’s students, faculty and programs.

Departing Trustee Evangeline Vann Greer “Peewee” Andrews, SWOSU Class of 1960, was commended and thanked for her 10 years of service. Since acceding to the board in April 2011, Andrews has served as chair of the Corporate Governance & Nominating Committee and was inducted into the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame in 2021.

The trustees reviewed FY 2020 reports and metrics including a 64% increase in philanthropic revenues over FY 2019 and a 15% increase in scholarships paid to SWOSU above the FY 2019 payments valuation. Trustees reviewed data indicating that, in 2020, only $0.05 out of every $1.00 donated to the Foundation went to fundraising costs (the national average is $0.20 according to the Association of Fundraising Professionals) and for every $1 the Foundation invested in fundraising activities, $18.57 was raised for SWOSU’s benefit.

The trustees also noted that, in 2020, the Foundation investment portfolio earned a 13.15% return generating over $2.7 million of investment earnings to support the current and future needs of SWOSU. Over the longer term, the five-year average return on the portfolio of 10% exceeded the benchmark return of 9.84%.

The Foundation’s leaders include:

CHAIR – George Cohlmia, Oklahoma City, SWOSU Class of 1974

1st VICE-CHAIR/CHAIR-DESIGNATE – Bryan Evans, Edmond, SWOSU Class of 1998, also chair of the Corporate Governance & Nominating Committee

2nd VICE-CHAIR – Brice Harris, Fair Oaks (CA), SWOSU Class of 1970, also chair of the Scholarships & Grants Committee

SECRETARY – Philip Busey, Jr., Oklahoma City, SWOSU Class of 2004, also chair of the Development Committee

TREASURER – Bruce Magill, Weatherford, SWOSU Class of 1970

PAST CHAIR – Dianne Hunter, Edmond, SWOSU Classes of 1986 & 1990

CHAIR OF THE INVESTMENT COMMITTEE – Michael Hart, Edmond, SWOSU Class of 2006

CHAIR OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE – Judy Wilkes, Oklahoma City, SWOSU Class of 1976

CHAIR OF THE FINANCE COMMITTEE – James Keehn, Edmond, SWOSU Class of 1996

CHAIR OF THE PROPERTY COMMITTEE – Debbie Shepherd, Weatherford, SWOSU Class of 1979

Additional seated trustees of the Foundation include:

  • Lori Baker Boyd, Yukon, SWOSU Class of 1997
  • Jeff DeFehr, Weatherford, SWOSU Class of 1990
  • David Ferrell, Amber, SWOSU Class of 1995
  • Juan Garcia, Clinton, SWOSU Class of 2002
  • Lori Harper, Gulfport (MS), SWOSU Class of 1993
  • Mark Russell, Elk City, SWOSU Class of 1986
  • Nelson Sims, Key Largo (FL), SWOSU Class of 1971
  • Cammi Valdez, Tahlequah, SWOSU Class of 2008

An institutionally-related charitable entity, the SWOSU Foundation, Inc. was established in 1977 to promote philanthropy, award scholarships and distribute funds to support the activities and programs of SWOSU. Located on the Weatherford campus in the historic Burton House, the Foundation currently stewards over $29 million in assets for the benefit of SWOSU.

The Foundation trustees serve as the overall governing and fiduciary body for the Foundation generally as well as for the Foundation’s two subsidiaries, the SWOSU Alumni Association and the SWOSU Athletic Association.

For more information, contact the SWOSU Office of Institutional Advancement at 580-774-3267 or visit