Content Loading

Sarah Stoffels Named 2021-22 Glenn Wright Memorial Scholar at SWOSU

Southwestern Oklahoma State University (SWOSU) student Sarah Stoffels of Anadarko has been named the 2021-22 academic year Glenn Wright Memorial Scholar.

Stoffels is studying music education on the Weatherford campus. This is her second consecutive year to be awarded the Glenn Wright Memorial Scholarship.

The Glenn Wright Memorial Scholarship is granted to a SWOSU student who intends to pursue a career in band direction and is named for the late Glenn Wright (SWOSU Class of 1949), who had a distinguished career leading band programs in Erick and Anadarko.

The Glenn Wright Memorial Scholarship Fund was generously established in 2018 by Oklahoma State Representative G. Harold Wright and his wife Carol (Roberson) Wright, both members of the SWOSU Class of 1971 (Carol also earned her Master of Education degree from SWOSU in 1980).

In 2020, Harold was named to the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame.

“I continue to be so honored to receive this generous scholarship funded by the Wright Family,” Stoffels said. “I am committed to using my SWOSU education to give back to young people who are passionate about music.”

The Glenn Wright Memorial Scholarship Fund is stewarded by the SWOSU Foundation, Inc., which was established in 1977 to promote philanthropy and distribute funds to support the activities and programs of SWOSU. Located on the Weatherford campus in the historic Burton House, the Foundation currently stewards nearly $31 million in assets for the benefit of SWOSU. For more information, please contact the SWOSU Foundation at 580-774-3267 or visit