Content Loading

SWOSU College of Pharmacy Honors Nine Alumni

SWOSU College of Pharmacy alumni were recently honored with awards from the SWOSU Pharmacy Alumni Association during a ceremony on the Weatherford campus. Honorees are (left to right): Young Professional Achievement Award winner Weston Lovell, McCurtain; Dr. H.F. Timmons Award winner Tom Davis, Edmond; Professional Achievement Award winners Martin Johnston, Granbury (TX), Edmond; Shanna Hamilton, Amarillo (TX); and Bill Arrington, Stillwater; Brandy Alumni Award winners Sally and Steve Drinnon, Weatherford; and Randy Curry, Weatherford; Humanitarian Award winner Jerry Shelton, Parker (CO). Standing with award recipients (far right, left to right) are SWOSU College of Pharmacy Dean Dr. David Ralph; Pharmacy Alumni Association President Becca Baugher Segrest, Edmond; and Pharmacy Alumni Association Past President Tracie Simard, Edmond.

Nine Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy alumni were recently honored on the Weatherford campus with awards from the SWOSU Pharmacy Alumni Association.

Honorees were Bill Arrington, Stillwater; Randy Curry, Weatherford, Tom Davis, Edmond; Sally and Steve Drinnon, Weatherford; Shanna Hamilton, Amarillo (TX); Martin Johnston, Granbury (TX); Weston Lovell, McCurtain; and Jerry Shelton, Parker (CO).

The Professional Achievement Award recognizes outstanding professional achievement. The award recognizes individuals who have attained prominence in his/her field and also distinguishes the alumni who personify the SWOSU College of Pharmacy’s tradition of excellence. Arrington, a 1977 graduate, Hamilton, a 1992 graduate, and Johnson, a 1981 graduate, were selected as this year’s recipients.

The Young Professional Achievement Award recognizes the outstanding professional achievement in the pharmacy profession of an individual who has graduated from the SWOSU College of Pharmacy in the last 10 years.  Weston Lovell, a 2011 graduate, was the 2021 award recipient.

The Humanitarian Award recognizes a SWOSU pharmacy graduate who has impacted lives through service and dedication. Jerry Shelton, a 1968 graduate, is this year’s honoree.

The Brandy Alumni Award recognizes outstanding service to the SWOSU College of Pharmacy and the Pharmacy Alumni Association. It also recognizes the achievements of an individual working on behalf of the College of Pharmacy through service in alumni programs, on advisory committees or through efforts made to ensure the welfare of the College of Pharmacy. Randy Curry, a 1977 graduate, and Sally and Steve Drinnon, both 1993 pharmacy graduates, were selected as this year’s recipients.

In addition, the Dr. H.F. Timmons Award recognizes a SWOSU College of Pharmacy faculty, staff or administration member who has demonstrated extraordinary dedication and service to SWOSU, College of Pharmacy, Pharmacy Alumni Association and the community. Honored this year is Tom Davis, a 1970 pharmacy graduate and associate professor in the SWOSU College of Pharmacy.

The SWOSU Pharmacy Alumni Association in Weatherford is accepting nominations until March 10 for the following pharmacy alumni awards: Professional Achievement Award, Young Professional Achievement Award, and Humanitarian Award.

Patti Harper, pharmacy alumni and development director at SWOSU, said the nomination forms can be found online at For more information, contact the SWOSU College of Pharmacy Alumni & Development Office (; 580-774-7197).

The SWOSU Pharmacy Alumni Association (PAA) exists to support the SWOSU College of Pharmacy students, alumni, faculty and friends.  Through annual and lifetime memberships and numerous alumni volunteers, the PAA assists the College of Pharmacy in its efforts to educate pharmacy students, provide opportunities for interaction with SWOSU pharmacy alumni, and recognize the contributions and achievements of its pharmacy alumni.