Content Loading

Rep. Anthony Moore Receives State Regents Distinguished Service Award

Oklahoma State Representative Anthony Moore (District 57) has received the Distinguished Service Award (2021) from the Oklahoma State Higher Regents of Education (OSHRE).

Moore was recognized and received the award from Southwestern Oklahoma State University (SWOSU) President Dr. Diana “Diane” R. Lovell on behalf of OSRHE during a recent visit to SWOSU Weatherford.

A fifth generation native of Custer County, Moore was raised on his family’s farm. After graduating from Clinton High School, where he won a state championship in golf, Anthony earned a bachelor’s degree from Oklahoma Christian University and a law degree from Oklahoma City University. He worked as a landman in the oil and gas industry prior to returning to Custer County to serve as Assistant District Attorney. Moore is now in private practice with Christensen Law Group. He and his wife, Rachel, have three children, Quinn (8), Karsten (6) and Cohen (2). 

A deacon at the Church of Christ, Moore was elected to the Oklahoma House of Representatives in 2020. He serves as Vice Chair of the Committee on Energy & Natural Resources and sits on the Committee on Elections & Ethics. He represents constituents who reside in communities across Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, and Custer Counties.

Lovell, along with Weatherford Mayor and SWOSU alumnus Mike Brown, was joined by SWOSU’s academic deans and Cabinet executives in recognizing Moore during the visit. Moore provided attendees with a brief update on the 2022 legislative session.

“Anthony Moore has been a champion for SWOSU and our role as a workforce development engine in western Oklahoma,” said Lovell. “On behalf of Chancellor Allison D. Garrett and the State Regents for Higher Education, I am truly honored to present Representative Anthony Moore with the OSRHE Distinguished Service Award.”

About the Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Awards for Higher Education recognize individuals who demonstrate distinguished leadership and support of higher education in Oklahoma during the legislative session. It is the highest award presented by the State Regents and the Council of College and University Presidents.