SWOSU Orchestra Performs February 22


The Southwestern Oklahoma State University Symphony Orchestra will perform its first concert of 2005 this Tuesday, February 22, on the Weatherford campus.

The concert starts at 8:15 p.m. in Room 101 of the Music Building on the SWOSU campus. Admission is free, and the public is invited.

The concert will open with the overture from the opera, Don Giovanni (Don Juan), by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Cellist Angela Krieger from Oklahoma City will perform Elegie by Pre-Impressionistic French composer Gabriel Faure. The last movement of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto will be performed by Joy Unruh, a graduate student from Meno. Graduate percussionist Robert Miller from Lawton will perform a xylophone concerto by Alan Hovhaness. The program will conclude with Mars from the Planets by Gustav Holst.

SWOSU’s Symphony Orchestra is conducted by Dr. Robert Chambers.

Members of the Southwestern Symphony Orchestra are: Violin I: David DeLoera, Oklahoma City; Andra Nuzum-Keim, Ponca City; Jill Adams, Lawton; Briana Parker-Bull, Weatherford; Jennifer Mansour, Edmond; Melissa McSpadden, Weatherford; Natalie Webb, Custer City; and David Robillard, Oklahoma City. Violin II: Angela Parker, Norman; Angela Merritt, Claremore; Renee Jerden, Moore; Emily Montgomery, Wichita Falls, TX; Kirk Anderson, Piedmont; Chun-I Wu, Taiwan; and Tyler Miller, Hydro. Viola: Joyce Teghtmeyer, Weatherford. Cello: Angela Dacus Krieger, Oklahoma City; Pam Yost, Ponca City; Rachel Maxon, Ponca City; Steven Johnson, Oklahoma City; Garrett Rodriguez, Stinnett, TX and Dr. Rolan Decker, Weatherford. Double Bass: Joseph West, Bartlesville; Roger Kubilis, Weatherford; Matthew Giles, Watonga; Ryan Houck, Crescent and JoAnne Rogers, Weatherford.

Also, Flute: Rebecca Rickey, Midwest City; Amanda Desadier, Walters; Nicole Moody, Putnam City; and Carissa Marquis, Weatherford. Oboe: Annette Wojciechowsky, El Reno; and Christen Spaeth, Weatherford. Clarinet: Joy Unruh, Meno; Yolanda Lackey, Lawton; and Sarah Divelbiss, Bartlesville. Trumpet: Adrian Gomez, Kingfisher; Jaime Jones, Weatherford; and Elisa Endres, Gainsville, TX. Horn: A.J. Stegall, Cordell; Lindsey Edmonds, Enid; Miranda Valley, Cushing; Stephenie Keil, Clinton; Kyle Stewart, Ringwood; John Phelan, Altus; and Janis South, Weatherford. Trombone: Mike Tidwell, Lawton; David Hagan, Ochelata; and Thomas J. Cortes, Moore. Euphonium: Richard Rivera, Moore. Tuba: Stephen Johnston, Oklahoma City. Percussion: Brady Fain, Norman; Zach Rupp, El Reno; and Robert Miller, Lawton.