History Day Winners Announced


Canton and Minco were sweepstakes winners at the annual History Day competition for Oklahoma District II held recently at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

Canton won the junior division, while Minco took top honors in the senior division.

The SWOSU Social Sciences Department coordinated the competition. In addition to competing for the sweepstakes awards, students also competed for prizes in various categories. The first and second place winners advance to the state contest.

Three students won special awards given by the American Association of University Women chapter in Weatherford. Wesley Collins of Lomega won for the individual exhibit of “The Power of Propaganda: The Cinematography of Leni Riefenstahl.” Natalie Locke and Annessa Chiles of Minco won for their group performance of “The Women Who Wrote the War.”

Winners at the 2005 SWOSU History Day competition were:


Historical Papers - first place, Erika Smith, Canton, Dorothea Dix: Voice for the Mentally Ill; and second place, Amy Reed, Canton, The Life of Sequoyah.

Individual Exhibits - first place, Wesley Collins, Lomega, The Power of Propaganda: The Cinematography of Leni Riefenstahl; second place, Taylor Winter, Lomega, Julius Mortimer: Communication on the Pony Express; and third place, Matthew Sparkes, Canton, D-Day: Veil of Secrecy.

Group Exhibits - first place, Kim Doak and Kaitlin Martinson, both of Canton, Dorothea Lange: Documenting a Human Erosion; second place, A.J. Collins, Sara Ogle and Hillary Winter, all of Lomega, Turning the Tide: The Expionage of Sarah Edmonds; and third place, Lisa Locke and Marla Ross, both of Minco, A Neighbor Who Understands How to Communicate.

Group Performances - first place, Katelynn Sanderson, Jessica Burchett, Josie Follis and Lindsey Smith, all of Canton, Portraits of Courage: They Dared to Speak so That We May be Heard.

Group Documentaries - first place, Garrett Lance, Ethan Williams and Seth Edwards, all of Canton, The Unbreakable Code; and second place, Tessia Miller, Silvia Gaines and Cyndi Jackson, all of Canton, Mother Jones Speaks Out.


Individual Performances - first place, Hunter Scott, Minco, Arise Warriors and Take A.I.M.; second place, Kayla Locke, Minco, Will Rogers: The Master of Communication.

Group Performances - first place, Natalie Locke and Annessa Chiles, both of Minco, The Women Who Wrote the War.

Individual Documentaries - first place, Joey Ross, Minco, Sesame Street: Where Communication and Understanding Meet; second place, Robin Coldiron, Burns Flat-Dill City, The Unbreakable Code; and third place, Gwynievere Harris, Burns Flat-Dill City, Access Denied.

Group Documentaries - first place, Hannah Sawatsky, Brennan Morse, Christy Allison and Brittany Battles, all of Burns Flat-Dill City, All Abroad; second place, Bobbie Jackson, Mican Scott, both of Canton, Words that Burn, Words that Heal: The Tulsa Race Riot of 1921; and third place, Kasey Vickers, Kelsey Huber and Miriam McFarland, all of Minco, Communicating Evil: The Terror of Nazi Propaganda.