SWOSU Sorority Council Plans Upcoming Event


SWOSU Sorority Council
The Southwestern Oklahoma State University Sorority Council members and officers for 2005-06 are (front from left): Jessica Coots, Norman; Kelly Harrelson, Clinton; April Shirvinski, Lawton; Jennifer McDaniel, Weatherford; and Stacia Briggs, Weatherford. Back from left—Randilyn Warner, Moore, vice president; Debbie Morse, Verden; Leslee Yount, Hobart, treasurer; Cashlie Hines, Newcastle, president; Megan Wells, Yukon; Jaclyn Scroggins, Mannford; and Adrienne Frame, Weatherford, secretary. The Sorority Council oversees the social sororities on campus.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s Sorority Council recently met to organize and create an upcoming “SWOSU Woman’s Her Story Week” on the Weatherford campus.

The council recently met in the home of SWOSU Dean of Students Cindy Dougherty for a social and planning meeting. The council is comprised of representatives from social sororities—Sigma Sigma Chi, Zeta Phi and Kappa Delta Omega.

"It was a great evening, some hard work and some good fun," said Cashlie Hines, who is SWOSU Sorority Council president. "We are capable of doing so much more together than we were ever able to do separately. Also with the mentoring and support we now have from the AAUW (American Association of University Women) we feel powerful in a very good way."

The "SWOSU Woman's Her Story Week" is being co-sponsored March 6-10 by the three SWOSU social sororities, AAUW and the Collegiate Activities Board. More details will be announced in the near future.

The council is looking for faculty members and community members who are willing to help the council in any way. People who want to help are invited to email their interest to Dougherty at cindy.dougherty@swosu.edu or call 580.774.3767.

SWOSU Sorority Council members are: Hines, Newcastle, president; Randilyn Warner, Moore, vice president; Adrienne Frame, Weatherford, secretary; Leslee Yount, Hobart, treasurer; Stacia Briggs, Weatherford; Jessica Coots, Norman; Kellie Harrelson, Clinton; Deanna Hughes,

Mustang; Jennifer McDaniel, Weatherford; Debbie Morse, Verden; Jaclyn Scroggins, Mannford; April Shirvinski, Lawton; Megan Wells, Yukon; and Brook Zorger, Duke.