Regents Coming to SWOSU


Southwestern Oklahoma State University will host the February meeting of the Board of Regents of Oklahoma Colleges this Thursday and Friday, February 16-17 on the Weatherford campus.

SWOSU President John Hays said the regents will hold their open meeting on Friday morning at 8:30 a.m. at the SWOSU Conference Center, located at the corner of Seventh and Davis Streets. The public is invited to the meeting.

Committee meetings will take place on Thursday afternoon and evening. One of the committees that will meet is the East Central University presidential selection committee. The regents will attend a dinner event on Thursday evening in Weatherford.

Members of the board are: Steve Poag, Chickasha; Belva Howard, Tulsa; Joe Anna Hibler, Weatherford; Jan Gordon, Broken Arrow; Mickey Thompson, Ada; Richard Ryerson, Alva; Ann Holloway, Ardmore; Mark Stansberry, Edmond; and Sandy Garrett, Oklahoma City. Sheridan McCaffree serves as executive director.

The BROC governs six regional universities including SWOSU, East Central University, Northeastern State University, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University and the University of Central Oklahoma.