Collins Named Visiting Professor at USC


Bernhardt Award Group
Dr. Virgil Van Dusen (third from left) won the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford. The award for exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship and service is made possible by Dr. William and Theta Juan Bernhardt who surround Van Dusen. Also pictured is SWOSU President John Hays.

Dr. Virgil Van Dusen won the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award Thursday night (March 30) at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

Van Dusen, an associate professor in the SWOSU College of Pharmacy, won the prestigious award at a banquet held at the Wellness Center on the SWOSU campus. SWOSU alumni Dr. William and Theta Juan Bernhardt of Midwest City are sponsors of the annual award that goes to an outstanding faculty member who exhibits exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship and service.

For winning the award, Van Dusen received a $2,500 cash award, Waterford crystal clock and engraved pen set.

Guest speaker for Tuesday's banquet was Don Davis, former president of Cameron University and now an assistant to Oklahoma Governor Brad Henry.

Dr. Virgil Van Dusen has a long history with SWOSU. He arrived on the campus in 1973 as a freshman pharmacy major and received a Bachelor of Science degree in 1978. Shortly afterwards, he graduated from the University of Tulsa College of Law in 1982. During the 1980’s, he practiced both law and pharmacy in the Tulsa area.

In 1989 he once again connected with SWOSU as he became a part-time clinical instructor in northeastern Oklahoma. Van Dusen took a full-time teaching position with SWOSU in the fall of 1994 and moved with his family to Weatherford. He has taught a variety of courses including Jurisprudence, Professional Ethics, Prescription Products and Pharmaceutics Four (institutional pharmacy). During his years on the campus, he has also participated in four of the five pharmaceutical laboratories, two of which have been a primary responsibility for him. He has consistently received high marks for his teaching and has been selected by senior pharmacy students as Teacher of the Year.

Scholarly activity has been a high priority of his since his arrival on the campus. He has authored more than 20 publications, which have appeared in such prestigious journals as the Journal of the American Pharmaceutical Association, the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education, Hospital Pharmacy, U.S. Pharmacist and America’s Pharmacist. In addition to his writing, he has maintained an active presentation schedule, giving more than 70 lectures at both regional and national locations to pharmacists, optometrists, nurses, physicians and students. While pursuing his own scholarly goals, he has also involved over 40 students in research projects that have resulted in over 20 poster presentations in the last 10 years. Expertise derived from his scholarly activity in the area of pharmacy law has resulted in his serving as an expert witness in both federal and state courts many times.

His service includes a wide variety of activities. On the national level, he has served as a question writer for the North American Pharmacy Licensure Exam (NAPLEX). Locally he has served since 1999 on the Professional Advisory Committee for Samaritan Home Care and Hospice of Clinton Regional Hospital. He recently served as president of the Weatherford Soccer Club and is currently a member of the Weatherford Board of Education. In addition, he has been actively involved in youth sporting events, such as basketball, softball and soccer, either as a coach or manager. He is a member of First Baptist Church of Weatherford where he has served in a number of positions and continues to serve as a deacon and teacher. He is also a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, and the American Society for Pharmacy Law.

At SWOSU, Van Dusen has served in a multitude of capacities as well. For the past 10 years, he has been an instructor for a freshman orientation class. He formerly served as member of the faculty senate and chairman of the Benefits Committee. He has also served on the Academic Appeals Committee and the Judiciary Committee of the faculty senate. In 1998 he began service on the Intellectual Property Committee prior to assuming his current position as chairman in 2002.

In the College of Pharmacy, Van Dusen has served on the Policy Committee and currently serves on the Awards and Curriculum Committees. He formerly served as advisor to Kappa Epsilon and currently serves as advisor for the Fellowship of Christian Pharmacists and co-advisor for the student chapter of the American Society for Health-Systems Pharmacists. Because of his numerous qualifications, Van Dusen was recently selected by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy to participate in the yearlong inaugural class of the Academic Leaders Fellowship Program. This program is designed to train and develop the most promising leaders of tomorrow for pharmacy education administration.

Van Dusen and his wife Susan (a registered nurse) have two children, David (a senior at Weatherford High School) and Abby (an eighth grader at Weatherford Middle School).

Previous winners of the Bernhardt Award are (in order by year): Dr. Vilas Prabhu, Dr. Stuart Burchett, Dr. Gary Wolgamott, Dr. Terry Segress, Dr. James Hunsicker, Dr. Jill Jones, Dr. James Breckenridge, Dr. John Ludrick, Dr. W. Steven Pray, Dr. Les Crall, Dr. Peter Grant and Dr. John Hayden.