Faculty Receive Promotions, Tenure


Six SWOSU faculty members were awarded promotions, and four faculty members received tenure at the April meeting of the Board of Regents of Oklahoma Colleges.

The changes are effective for the 2006-07 academic year, according to SWOSU President John Hays.

Two were promoted to professor from associate professor, including Dr. Brian Campbell and Dr. Jason Johnson, both in the Department of Chemistry and Physics. Dr. Melinda Burgess was promoted to associate professor from assistant professor. Christopher Gregston and Deborah McFarlin, both in the social work program, and Patsy Wootton of the College of Associate and Applied Programs on the Sayre campus were promoted to assistant professor from instructor. 

The faculty members who received tenure are Burgess; Dr. Victoria Gaydosik and Dr. Robin Jones, both in the Department of Language Arts; and Dr. Chad Kinder, Department of Parks and Recreation Management.