SWOSU Students and Guest Enjoy Business Lunch


Business Lunch
Former SWOSU President and current Regent Joe Anna Hibler gives instructions to participants in the business lunch. 

Business Lunch
Among the students participating in the Professional Issues class business lunch at Southwestern Oklahoma State University were Angela Gibson and Kurt  Budiarto.

Business Lunch
SWOSU Provost Dr. Blake Sonobe visits with student Cashlie Hines during a recent business lunch on the Weatherford campus.

A formal business lunch for the Professional Issues class recently took place on the Weatherford campus.

The objective of the class project is to teach students proper dining etiquette in a business setting, according to assistant professor Midge Gerber of the School of Business and Technology.

Former SWOSU President and current Regent Dr. Joe Anna Hibler served as etiquette instructor/facilitator as the class and guests worked their way through a three-course meal. Nine SWOSU administrators and faculty participated to give the students an opportunity to make conversation and ask questions of someone other than their peers.

“This hands-on experience was a fun, learning opportunity for everyone,” Gerber said.

Students are encouraged to take the 4123 Professional Issues class during the spring semester before they are scheduled to graduate. Professional Issues is an in-depth study of human relations, job search, job interviewing, resume writing, business etiquette, etc., along with a study of current research/publications on workplace developments.

Administrators/faculty participating in the business lunch were Provost Dr. Blake Sonobe; Associate provost Dr. Cindy Foust; Dr. Ken Rose, dean of the College of Professional and Graduates Studies; Dr. Larry McKee, associate dean of the School of Business and Technology; Dr. Elizabeth Ferrell, chair of the Department of Management and Marketing;  Dr. Jill Jones, chair of the Department of Language Arts; Brian Adler, director of Public Relations & Marketing; David Misak, director of Human Resources; and Karen Wilson, Web and Creative Services manager.

Students participating were Kolby Bizzell, Kurt Budiarto, Torri Buie, Leah Churchwell, Colt Clinesmith, Zah Garuba, Angela Gibson, Laura Griesel, Lindsey Grigg, Carson Guthrie, Cashlie Hines, Daniel Hogan, Matt Howard, Katie Kastner, Ashley Kauk, Carol Mapel, Bobby Martin, Cole McBride, Maghin Merrill, Brent Morgan, Carly Powell, Sean Rogers, Kimberly Short, Lindsay Smith and Chris Whorton.