SWOSU, Wright Win Best of Show at Competition

SWOSU Best of Show Group
SWOSU won "Best of Show" at the recent Oklahoma College Public Relations Association summer conference. Winning awards were (front from left): Karen Wilson, web services manager; and Kyle Wright, graphic designer/photographer.. Back from left-Debbie Brown, PR & Marketing administrative assistant; Brian Adler, PR & Marketing director; and Justin Tinder, sports information director.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University won a “Best of Show” Award in a state-wide competition at the recent Oklahoma College Public Relations Association state conference held at Western Hills Guest Ranch near Wagoner.

SWOSU won several honors at the competition, which involved all Oklahoma colleges and universities.

Kyle Wright, graphic designer in Creative Services of the PR & Marketing Office, led the way with his first place award in the Sports Publication category. His design of a series of athletic posters/schedules also won the “Best of Show” Award.

“This is a very nice honor for SWOSU and Wright,” said Brian Adler, director of the SWOSU PR & Marketing Office and also a board member of OCPRA. “There were nearly 500 entries in the competition, so to be selected as ‘Best of Show’ is truly a tremendous accomplishment.”

Wright also won first place in graphic design/logo identity for his series of signs in the food court area of the University Grill. Wright won second place in the traditional photography category.

The team of Wright, Karen Wilson and Denny Cave won second place in the web design category for the SWOSU athletic web site.

Justin Tinder, sports information director at SWOSU, won third place in the sports writing competition, while Brian Adler, director of public relations and marketing, won third place in news writing.

This is the third year for a “Best of Show” selection and the first time SWOSU has won the award. There were 27 categories of competition involving every university and college in Oklahoma. Tulsa Community College won the most honors with 10 followed by the Oklahoma State University and University of Oklahoma systems with nine each. SWOSU was next with seven awards.