SWOSU Student Senate Begins Year


The 61st Student Senate at Southwestern Oklahoma State University will hear SWOSU Student Body President Garrett King’s 2006 State of the University Address this Wednesday, September 20, on the Weatherford campus.

Everyone is invited to the event at 5:30 p.m. in Bernhardt Hall, located on the first floor of the Stafford Center.

The SWOSU Senate convoked its 1st Regular Session on Wednesday, September 13. SWOSU Student Body Vice President and Senate Chairman Sam Jennings of Oklahoma City welcomed the newly-elected student legislators. SWOSU Associate Justice of the Student Body Britnee Goure of Oklahoma City administered the oath of office and swore the senators in.

SWOSU President Dr. John Hays delivered remarks as did SWOSU Dean of Students Cindy Dougherty. Both congratulated the students on their election and urged them to be a true force for progress at SWOSU. King gave a brief welcome and pledged to work with the Senate for the benefit of the student body.

Student senators elected by the College of Arts and Sciences students are: Jordan Acklin, Maria Bedoya, Cameron Bowen, Sean Dooley, Zachary Dumas, Aryn Hollman, Heather Leach, Whittney Lee, Kyra Littlfield, Jonna May, Rachel McCurdy, Danelle Miller, Anthony Moore, Cierra Musick and Kari Robison.

Student Senators elected by the College of Pharmacy students are: Amanda Brewer, Thien Dinh, Angela Foust, Kim Le, Dana Mason, Adam Olendorff, Luke Ott, Jason Rivera and Keith Saettele.

Student Senators elected by the College of Professional and Graduate Studies students are: Chasidy Brady, Megan Coit, Tessa Dean, Brittany Ehrlich, Jessica Eidem, Josh Elder, Rhiannon Goodson, Kendra Hines, Drew Horning, Ashley Hyneman, Katie Korhonen, Colin Lindamood, Kimber Miller, Ali North, Barry Wilkins, Michael Zamor and Alex Zukerman.