SWOSU College of Pharmacy Honors GPRMC Pharmacists


Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy in Weatherford recently honored three full-time pharmacists at Great Plains Regional Medical Center in Elk City with the "Outstanding Institutional Preceptor" Award at the recent annual joint meeting of the SWOSU and University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy preceptors' meeting.

They are Theresa Garner, Marsha Ballew and Dana Riley.

Students who rotated through the facility for the 2005-2006 year nominated the entire group of pharmacists at Great Plains as being exemplary role models for the practice of institutional pharmacy.

SWOSU Assistant Professor Nina Morris said Teresa Cooper of St. Francis Hospital in Tulsa received the Distinguished Clinical Preceptor Award and Ronda Gibson of Family Meds Pharmacy in Oklahoma City won the Distinguished Community Preceptor Award.

Morris, who works with GPRMC and the students who complete their rotations at the facility, said the SWOSU College of Pharmacy is pleased to honor the pharmacists during National Pharmacists Week, which is October 23-29.

“We congratulate the whole GPRMC pharmacy team for a job well done and for helping to ensure that the education and training of future pharmacists is completed in a way that makes us all proud,” Morris said.