Segress to Receive Governor's Arts Award

Dr. Terry SEgress

Dr. Terry Segress, chairman of the Southwestern Oklahoma State University Department of Music, will be honored by Governor Brad Henry at the upcoming 31st annual Governor’s Arts Awards.

Segress will receive an Arts & Education Award which recognizes professional educators who go above and beyond the call of academia to promote arts education for Oklahoma’s students.

Sponsored by the Oklahoma Arts Council, 20 individuals and two organizations will be honored for their contributions to the arts in their communities or throughout the state. The ceremony is scheduled for 4 p.m. on Wednesday, November 29, in the 4th Floor Rotunda of the State Capitol. The event is open to the public. Presiding at the ceremony will be Council Chair Jim Tolbert and Executive Director Betty Price.

Segress has been the chair of the SWOSU Department of Music since 1998. In 1970-71, he directed the SWOSU Jazz Band as an adjunct instructor and was then hired full-time.  Until this year, he directed the SWOSU Jazz Ensemble “A” and is the founder of the SWOSU Jazz Festival which is in its 37th year. Dr. Segress is the coordinator of the SWOSU summer music camp program and is the director of the SWOSU Jazz Camp, Middle School Band Camp and Band Camp. He also teaches applied tuba, counterpoint and instrumentation classes. Previously, he was the high school band director in Erick and Weatherford.

Segress received his Bachelor of Music from Oklahoma City University and his Master of Music and Ph.D. in Music Education from the University of North Texas.  He has been inducted into the Oklahoma Bandmasters Association Hall of Fame and the Oklahoma Music Educators Hall of Fame and was presented the SWOSU Bernhardt Award for Faculty Excellence. He was honored as the Jazz Educator of the Year in 2005 by the Oklahoma State Unit of the International Association for Jazz Education.

A reception on the second floor of the Capitol will follow the 4 p.m. ceremony.  A complete list of Governor’s Arts Awards recipients and their photos are available at For more information about the Governor’s Arts Awards, please contact Ann Dee Lee at (405) 521-2931 or at

The Oklahoma Arts Council is a state agency whose mission is to improve lives through the arts by promoting and sustaining the development of a thriving arts environment, which is essential to quality of life, education and economic vitality for all Oklahomans.