Sci-Tech Student Reporting Competition Underway


The Oklahoma Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) in collaboration with the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education has announced the kick off of the Oklahoma Sci-Tech Student Reporting Competition and Awards. 

SWOSU students at Weatherford and Sayre are eligible to enter the competition.

The purpose of the Oklahoma Sci-Tech Student Reporting Awards is to increase public awareness of the relevance of science and technology research taking place at Oklahoma colleges and universities while encouraging outstanding student journalism. 

The competition includes three categories: article, series, and graphics.  First, second, third place and honorable mention winners will be selected in each category.  Winners will receive the following prizes: First Place, $300; Second Place, $100; Third Place, $50; and Honorable Mention, award certificate. 

Only undergraduate and graduate students are eligible to enter the competition.  A press conference/awards luncheon will be held in April 2007 to announce the winners.  Student reporters who have submitted entries, the student editor of the publishing newspapers, and one faculty advisor will be invited to attend the awards luncheon.

Undergraduate and graduate students at SWOSU become eligible for participation in the competition by reporting and publishing articles on news topics that are related to science, technology, engineering and mathematics research taking place in Oklahoma. 

Articles must be published in an Oklahoma college or university newspaper between August 15, 2006 and March 15, 2007. All entries must be submitted by mail or in person to Patricia Greer at Oklahoma EPSCoR no later than 5 p.m. on March 15, 2007. The address is: 415 Whitehurst, Stillwater OK 74078-1038.

To obtain specific competition guidelines and to download the entry form, please visit the Oklahoma EPSCoR website at or contact Greer with questions at (405) 744-9993.