Cheyenne-Arapaho Honor Dance This Saturday at SWOSU


Henrietta MannAn Honor Dance for Dr. Henrietta Mann, who is interim president of the newly-established Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribal College, will be held this Saturday, December 9, on the Southwestern Oklahoma State University campus in Weatherford. Admission is free, and the public is invited to attend.

The dance begins at 1 p.m. in the Wellness Center and will continue throughout the day and evening. Gourd dancing is scheduled for the afternoon and early evening with an evening meal scheduled to begin at 5 p.m. The Grand Entry is set for 7 p.m.

Contests are scheduled for the evening events. A Men’s Fancy Dance Contest will offer $300, $200 and $100 prizes for first, second and third places, respectively. Two other contests are planned including a Ladies Prettiest Shawl and Men’s Shawl Dance Contest with each having $75, $50 and $25 prizes for first, second and third places, respectively.

Dr. Mann, a member of the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame, is a full-blood Cheyenne of the Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma and was the first individual to occupy the Endowed Chair in Native American Studies at Montana State University, Bozeman, where she is currently professor emeritus and special assistant to the president. Dr. Mann also serves as interim president for the Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribal College at SWOSU. 

Dr. Mann has taught at the University of Montana, Missoula; University of California, Berkeley; Harvard University; and Haskell Indian Nations University in Lawrence, Kansas. She also served as director of the Office of Indian Education Programs and deputy to the assistant secretary for the Bureau of Indian Affairs. She was the national coordinator of the American Indian Religious Freedom Act Coalition for the Association of American Indian Affairs.

The event this Saturday will have a head staff including: Masters of Ceremony – Manny King and Moses Starr, Jr.; Head Singer—Hyde Toppah; Head Man Dancer—J.R. Jaquez; Head Lady Dance—Denise Boswell; Head Little Boy Dancer—John-John YellowEagle; Head Little Girls Dancer—Rachelle Roman Nose; Honored Educator—Lenora Hart; and Arena Director—Funston Whiteman. A special invitation is extended to Hannah Little Coyote, the 2007 Cheyenne Labor Day Princess, and Lena Nells, the 2007 Arapaho Labor Day Princess. The Invited Drum is the Riverside Indian School, which will also provide the Color Guard.

The dance is sponsored by the Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribal College; SWOSU; and Cheyenne and Arapaho RESpECT, Education, Cultural and Heritage, and Tribal Youth Programs.